clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 323   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

programs, laws, and policies that affect Statewide
development and makes recommendations to the
Governor on matters relating to Maryland's
physical and economic development. The Council
is concerned with the broad spectrum of State
development issues, including agricultural preser-
vation, urban conservation and growth, environ-
mental and historic preservation, rural develop-
ment, and economic development.


Chairperson: Richard D. Weigle

Bernard L. Berkowitz; Frank J. Blackwell; K.
King Burnett; James W. Campbell; Jean
Crollus; Leonard W. Dayton; Walter R. Dean,
Jr.; Mathias J. DeVito; C. Bernard Fowler; Es-
ther Gelman; Parris N. Glendening; Gareth
Green; Timothy R. Hickman; Billy Gene Jack-
son; William M. Kenny; Frederick C. Malkus,
Jr.; F. Grove Miller; J. Hugh Nichols; J. Frank
Raley, Jr.; Merilyn B. Reeves; Lehman W.
Spry; Edward P. Thomas; Gerald W.
Winegrad; Ronald N. Young; Stanley E.

Office of the President
St. Mary's College of Maryland
St. Mary's City 20686 Telephone: 863-7211

The Governor created the State Development
Council Task Force in 1980 (Executive Order
01.01.1980.01). The Task Force reviews the draft
development policies produced by the State De-
velopment Council and holds public hearings
throughout the State to obtain public response to
these proposed policies. The Task Force also may
be requested to prepare legislation addressing the
problems of physical and economic growth in



Chairperson: Mannes F. Greenberg, 1985
Vice-Chairperson: William Buchanan, 1985
Secretary: Anne K. Pecora, 1983

Gertrude Nolan, 1983; Edmund Delaney, 1984;
Ralph J. Moore, 1984; Conrad Varner, 1984;
Susan P. Leviton, 1985; one vacancy.

Curtis L. Decker, Executive Director

2510 St. Paul St.
Baltimore 21218 Telephone: 383-3400
TTY: 235-4227

Executive Commissions/'323

In 1977 the Maryland Advocacy Unit for the
Developmentally Disabled was created by Execu-
tive Order of the Acting Governor in accordance
with federal statute (P.L. 94-103). The Unit is the
State's official agency designated to protect and
advocate the rights of the developmentally dis-
abled in Maryland. It is a non-profit private cor-
poration directed by a nine-member Board of Di-
rectors. The Governor appoints the Board's

The Maryland Advocacy Unit for the Develop-
mentally Disabled, Inc., (MAUDD) has devel-
oped a network of advocacy services to pursue le-
gal, administrative, and other appropriate remedies
to ensure the protection of the rights of disabled
persons who are entitled to receive treatment, ser-
vices, or habilitation within the State. MAUDD
is independent of any State agency which pro-
vides treatment, services, or habilitation to per-
sons with disabilities.

MAUDD serves disabled persons with prob-
lems in guardianship, special education, lack of
adequate services in institutions and the commu-
nity, abuse and neglect, as well as other problems
related to their disability. The present staff of
MAUDD includes attorneys, advocacy special-
ists, and social workers.


Chairperson: Anne Shaw Burgan

Bert Booth; Teresa Breza; George H. Callcott;
Thomas A. Cassidy; Christopher W. Chinault;
Robert J. Colborn, Jr.; Salvatore L. Costabile;
Lynda C. Davis; Ruth Eaton; Diane Frese;
Helen Yvonne Harris; Janice Hummel; Michael
S. Miller; Jean Stahl; W. Jackson Stenger;
Maurice Travillian.

Enoch Pratt Free Library
400 Cathedral Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 396-5328
and (800) 492-5626

The Governor appointed the Task Force on
Documents pursuant to Joint Resolution no. 19
of the 1979 General Assembly. The Task Force is
to study and evaluate the system of collecting,
distributing, and making accessible State and lo-
cal government publications and reports.

Membership of the Task Force consists of the
Governor or his designee, a member of the House
of Delegates, a member of the Senate, and one
representative each from Division of Library De-
velopment and Services of the State Department
of Education, State Department of Legislative
Reference, State Law Library, Hall of Records,


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 323   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives