clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 322   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

322/Maryland Manual


Chairperson: Nathaniel E. Kossack

Frank J. Battaglia, Cornelius J. Behan, Clarence
W. Blount, Shirley S. Brooks, Clarence "Du"
Bums, Warren B. Duckett, Jr., William W.
Greenhaigh, Charles H. Hickey, Jr., David W.
Hornbeck, William J. Kunkel, Gail Kushner,
William R. Leckemby, Jr., Claudia Stevens
Maddox, Marion Mattingly, Robert C. Mur-
phy, Alan H. Murrell, George Phelps, George
B. Rasin, Jr., Jackie Roberson, Stephen H.
Sachs, Thomas W. Schmidt, Robert Scruggs,
W. Cecil Short, Rex C. Smith, Andrew L. Son-
ner, Robert F. Sweeney, Floyd E. Wilson, Jr.

Richard W. Friedman, Executive Director

One Investment Place, Suite 700
Towson 21204 Telephone: 321-3636

The Maryland Criminal Justice Coordinating
Council formerly was the Governor's Commission
on Law Enforcement and the Administration of
Justice. In 1967, the Commission was established
to collect and analyze criminal justice statistics
and information, coordinate State and local crime
control and delinquency prevention programs,
evaluate anti-crime efforts throughout the State,
and develop new approaches to resolving Mary-
land's crime and delinquency problems. As a re-
sult of Congressional actions, the functions and
membership of the Commission were revised by
Executive Orders in 1969, 1971, 1975, and 1978.
In 1982, Governor Hughes issued a new Execu-
tive Order and changed the Commission's name
to the Maryland Criminal Justice Coordinating
Council in order to reflect its new role in Mary-
land's criminal justice system (Executive Order

The Governor's Executive Order requires the
Council and its staff to assume broad responsibil-
ity in crime control policy development, coordi-
nation, and problem resolution. By the Gover-
nor's mandate, the Council is involved in the
following areas: repeat offenders, crime preven-
tion, the dangerous mentally ill offender, improv-
ing services to victims of crime, overcrowding in
prisons and local jails, improving the administra-
tion of juvenile justice, and providing information
to better coordinate State and local law enforce-
ment and crime control programs.

The Council administers federal anti-crime
funds as distributed by the U. S. Department of
Justice. This responsibility includes the closing
out of the Law Enforcement Assistance Adminis-
tration (LEAA) program and administering feder-

al funds from the Office of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention.

The Council staff is headed by an Executive
Director, appointed by the Governor, and in-
cludes professionals in the fields of criminal/
juvenile justice policy, crime prevention, informa-
tion systems and criminal justice research, correc-
tions, and law enforcement. The staff provides
assistance to units of local government and other
State agencies in crime control matters. It pre-
pares special studies and reports at the request of
the Governor, General Assembly, and Judiciary.


Chairperson: William S. James, State Treasurer

Louis S. Goldstein, Comptroller of the Treasury;
H. Louis Stettler III, Secretary of Budget and
Fiscal Planning; Constance Lieder, Secretary of
State Planning; Gene L. Burner, Director of As-
sessments and Taxation.

Public Member: Paul B. Meritt

Secretary: Robert D. Rader, Chief, Bureau of
Revenue Estimates

State Treasury Building
Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 269-3882

Created in 1980 by Executive Order, this com-
mission replaces the former Committee to Study
the State Debt.

The Commission on State Debt serves as an
advisory group. Annually, it recommends to the
Board of Public Works a State tax rate on real
and personal property. This tax rate must provide
sufficient funds to meet debt service requirements
on outstanding general obligation bonds during
the next ensuing fiscal year.


Chairperson: Constance Lieder, Secretary of State

J. Joseph Curran, Lieutenant Governor; Wayne A.
Cawley, Jr., Secretary of Agriculture; James 0.
Roberson, Secretary of Economic and Commu-
nity Development; Charles R. Buck, Jr., Secre-
tary of Health and Mental Hygiene; Vacancy,
Secretary of Natural Resources; Lowell K.
Bridwell, Secretary of Transportation.

301 West Preston St.
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-7700

The State Development Council was establish-
ed by Executive Order in 1980. It studies existing


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 322   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives