clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 119   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


JOAN PITKIN, Democrat, District 23. Bom in New York, N.Y. Attended Universi-
ty of Vermont; Columbia University. Former director, Bowie Health Center; Bowie
State College Fine Arts Society; Bowie Cultural Arts Commission; charter member,
Bowie Woman's Club, Inc. Co-founder, Belair Cooperative Nursery School. Member,
Governor's Advisory Committee for Office of Children and Youth; first chairperson,
Prince George's County Office of Children and Youth. Member, Council on Toxic
Substances; State Department of Education's Energy Task Force. Married; 4 children.
Member of the House of Delegates since 1979. Member, Joint Committee on Investi-
gations; House Environmental Matters Committee. District office: 12005 Long Ridge
Lane, Bowie 20715; tel. 262-0538. Annapolis office: 208 Lowe Bldg., 21401; tel.

HOWARD P. RAWLINGS, Democrat, District 40. Born in Baltimore, March 17,
1937. Attended Baltimore public schools; Morgan State University, B.S., 1958; Uni-
versity of Wisconsin, M.S., 1959; Ph.D studies, University of Maryland. College
teacher; mathematician. Member, Governor's Desegregation Task Force for Public
Post-Secondary Education, 1973-1974; Maryland Council for Higher Education Com-
mittee for the Enhancement of the Black Colleges and Universities, 1974. Vice-presi-
dent for Programs, Maryland NAACP, 1978-1979; president. Community Health
Council of Maryland, 1975-present; chairman. University of Maryland Hospital Com-
munity Advisory Group, 1976-1978; board member, Antioch University, Homestead-
Montebello Center, 1976-present. Afro-American Newspaper Honor Roll, 1972, 1974;

Maryland NAACP Award for Committee Leadership, 1977; UMES Chancellor's
Award, 1978; Outstanding Service Award by the Maryland Association of Equal Op-
portunity Personnel, 1978. Married; 3 children. Member of the House of Delegates
since 1979. Chairman, Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and the Environment.
District office: 3502 Sequoia Ave., Baltimore 21215; tel. 466-4224. Annapolis office:

317 Lowe Bldg., 21401; tel. 841-3277.

EILEEN M. REHRMANN, Democrat, District 34. Born in Chester, Pennsylvania,
November 30, 1944. Attended Notre Dame High School, Media, Pennsylvania;

Immaculata College, Philadephia. Former educator, municipal official, homemaker.
Bel Air Town Commissioner, 1979-1982; president, Maryland Municipal League,
1981-1982; member, Solid Waste Management Commission. Delegate, 1980 Demo-
cratic National Convention; Maryland representative. National League of Cities Task
Force on the 80s. Past president, Harford County League of Women Voters. Past
chair, Harford County Permanent Nominating Caucus; Harford County Child Protec-
tion Council; Maryland Democratic Party's Resolutions and Issues Committee. Served
on Governor's Task Force on the Community Development Block Grant Program;

vice-chair, Discover Harford Committee, Inc. Treasurer, Harford County Community
Resource Board. Served on National League of Cities Communications and Transpor-
tation Committee; Region 5 Criminal Justice Planning Board. Received Certificate of
Distinguished Citizenship, 1982; Leadership Award, Maryland League of Women Vot-
ers, 1979; Honorary Citizen, Aberdeen, 1980. Married; 4 children. Member of the
House of Delegates since 1983; member, Appropriatations Committee. District office:

103 N. Main St., Bel Air 21014; tel. 838-0123. Annapolis office: 326 Lowe Bldg.,
21401; tel. 841-3289.

LEWIS R. RILEY, Republican, District 38. Born in Parsonsburg, February 19, 1935.
Graduate of Wicomico Senior High School. Farmer; poultryman; businessman.
Wicomico County Council (president four years; vice-president four years); president,
Maryland Association of Counties, 1973; Advisory Board of Holly Center; Wicomico
County Recreation Commission; Delmarva Advisory Council; director, Wicomico
Nursing Home; Board of Trustees, Peninsula General Hospital Medical Center; direc-
tor, Wicomico Teen-Adult Center for the Retarded. Member and past president,
Parsonsburg Volunteer Fire Department; past president, PTA; board member,
Wicomico Unit, Cancer Society. Past recipient, Wicomico Outstanding Young Farmer,
1961; American Farm Degree, 1956. Married; 3 children. Member of the House of
Delegates since 1979; member, Ways and Means Committee. District office: Box 130,
Parsonsburg 21849; tel. 742-3999. Annapolis office; 312 Lowe Bldg., 21401; tel.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 119   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives