clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 231   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies

The Board was established by Chapter 763,
Acts of 1977. The Board consists of six members
appointed by the Governor with the advice of the
Secretary of Licensing and Regulation for five-
year terms. Two members are selected from the
public at large, three members are professional
land surveyors, and one is a property line survey-
or. The professional land surveyors and property
line surveyor may be selected from a list of nomi-
nees recommended by the Maryland Society of
Surveyors. The Board publishes annually a roster
that contains the names of those authorized to
practice as professional land surveyors and prop-
erty line surveyors. The Board is a member of the
Maryland Society of Professional Land Surveyors,
which aids in the reciprocal licensing of surveyors
and seeks to promote uniform standards of licens-
ing in all States.

Through the cooperation of the local chapters
of the surveying fraternities, the Board seeks to
secure voluntary compliance with the law and the
maintenance of the ethical standards of the pro-
fession. The Board also has specific powers of en-
forcement. These include the investigation of
charges, as well as the hearing of complaints of
violations of the registration law, the power to
subpoena witnesses and the submission of docu-
ments or other pertinent data, and the power to
apply for relief by injunction to enforce the provi-
sions of the law or to restrain any violations of it.

All persons seeking to practice surveying in
Maryland must submit their qualifications to the
Board or pass the examination before being is-
sued a certificate of registration to practice.


Chairperson: Vacant

Ex officio members: Avery W. Hall, representing
the Secretary of Transportation,
C. Philip Man-
ger, President, Baltimore Chamber of Com-
Capt. George A. Quick, President,
Maryland Pilots Association.

Appointed members: Albert J. Knighton, 1981;
Patrick G. Lynch, 1981; Louis D. Harrington,
1982; Mahlon B. Mitchell, 1982; Joanne L.
Suder, 1982; Rexford L. Wheeler, 1982.

1316 S. Baylis Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 659-6322

The Board of Examiners of Maryland Pilots,
created by Chapter 575, Acts of 1969, consists of

Licensing and Regulation/'231

four members appointed by the Governor with
the advice of the Secretary of Licensing and Reg-
ulation for two-year terms. Two of the appointed
members must be actively engaged in the owner-
ship, operation, or management of oceangoing
vessels required to employ pilots licensed under
Article 74. These members cannot ever have held
a master's or pilot's license. Two members must
be licensed as pilots for at least five years prior to
their appointment. A designee of the Secretary of
Transportation, the president of the Baltimore
Chamber of Commerce, and the president of the
Association of Maryland Pilots serve as ex officio
members. The Board establishes rates, pilotage
fees, and charges (Code 1957, Art. 74, secs. 1-20).


Chairperson: Milton Snyder, 1981
Vice-Chairperson: Thomas E. Pierson, 1981
Secretary: Helen Burwell, 1981
Treasurer: Andrew Oravetz, 1981

Robert Collins, 1981; Elmer Doan, 1981; David
J. Granek, 1981; John E. Mertens, 1981;
Charles Morgan, 1981.

One South Calvert Street
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 659-6322

The first board for the examining and licensing
of plumbers in Maryland was established by
Chapter 439, Acts of 1886, with jurisdiction lim-
ited to Baltimore City. The General Assembly
established the present Commission by Chapter
436, sec. 186, Acts of 1910, and enlarged its
membership by Chapter 675, Acts of 1965. Its ju-
risdiction includes all of the State. The Board is
composed of nine members appointed biennially
by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary
of Licensing and Regulation and the advice and
consent of the Senate for two-year terms. One
member must be from Southern Maryland, one
from the Eastern Shore, two from Baltimore City,
one from the area including Allegany, Washing-
ton, Garrett, Frederick, and Montgomery coun-
ties, and two from the area including Carroll,
Baltimore, and Harford counties. The Commis-
sion examines and certifies journeymen and mas-
ter plumbers and serves as the regulatory agency
for the plumbing trade and business (Code 1957,
Art. 43, secs. 329-338B).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 231   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives