clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 199   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies

venile services. The Board also participates in
interpreting the objectives of the Administration
to the public as well as in planning for the devel-
opment and use of all available resources for the
promotion of the needs of the Juvenile Services
Administration (Code 1957, Art. 52A, sec. 3).


Chairperson: James B. Zachary, M.D., 1984
^ice-Chairperson: Jean Dockhorn, 1981

James P. G. Flynn, M.D., 1981; G. Melville Wil-
liams, 1981; Lee Beenhardt, 1982; Robert M.
Lentz, 1982; Ira N. Tublin, 1982; Georgia
Payne, 1983; Nancy B. Price, 1983; David
Bowers, 1983; Fuad Dagher, M.D., 1984; Wil-
liam D. Hills, M.D., 1984.

Executive Director: Edwin B. Green

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-6460

The Commission on Kidney Disease, created
by Chapter 492, Acts of 1971, establishes a pro-
gram of State assistance for persons with chronic
renal disease throughout the State.

The Commission consists of twelve members,
six of whom are appointed at the discretion of the
Governor. The remaining six members are
appointed from candidate listings containing at
least three names each submitted by the Kidney
Foundation of Maryland, the Regional Medical
Programs of Maryland, the Maryland Health
Planning and Development Agency, the medical
faculties of the University of Maryland and The
Johns Hopkins University, and the Medical and
Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland. Of the members
appointed at the Governor's discretion, four must
be lay members to the field of medicine while two
represent the medical insurance industry. No
member may serve more than two consecutive
four-year terms. The Commission selects its own
officers and appoints its executive director.

The Commission aids in the gathering and dis-
semination of information on the treatment of
chronic renal disease in the State. It also sets
physical and medical standards for the operation
of dialysis and renal transplantation centers, and
sets standards for the acceptance of a patient into
the treatment phase of the program. The Com-
mission institutes and supervises educational pro-
grams on the subject of kidney disease and its
treatment and prevention for the public and pro-
viders of health services. Patients accepted into

Health and Mental Hygiene/199

the treatment phase of the program will be eligi-
ble for State medical assistance. The Commission
may utilize existing programs and groups for its
informational purposes, whether or not such pro-
grams and groups are governmental. The Com-
mission is to evaluate the entire kidney disease
program annually and report such evaluation to
the Governor (Code 1957, Art. 43, secs. 781-790).


Chairperson: John E. Adams, M.D., 1983

Vincent J. Fiocco, Jr., M.D., 1981; J. Roy
Guyther, M.D., 1981; Eli M. Lippman, M.D.,
1981; Karl F. Mech, M.D., 1981; Prank M.
Shipley, M.D., 1981; Chris Papadopoulos,
M.D., 1982; Alexander Williams, Jr., 1982;
Virginia M. Kennedy, 1983; Hilary T. 0'
Herlihy, M.D., 1983; Robert L. Young, Jr., M.
D., 1983.

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-7058

The Commission on Medical Discipline was cre-
ated by Chapter 469, Acts of 1968, which became
effective on July 1, 1969. The Commission consists
of eleven members appointed for three-year terms.
Of the eleven members, one must be the president
of the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Mary-
land. Two must be physicians appointed by the
Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene. One
must be the chairperson of the Council of the
Medical and Chirurgical Faculty. Three members
must be appointed by the Board of Medical Exam-
iners. Two must be appointed by the Secretary of
Health and Mental Hygiene from lists submitted
by the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of the
State of Maryland. Two are consumer members
appointed by the Governor upon the recommenda-
tion of the Secretary of the Department of Health
and Mental Hygiene with the advice and consent
of the Senate, who cannot have been trained in
medicine or have financial interests in a related
field (Code 1957, Art. 43, sec. 145).

The Commission refers any cases coming to its
attention to the appropriate local county society
or committee of the Medical and Chirurgical Fac-
ulty of the State of Maryland for investigation
and report. The report must be acted upon within
ninety days unless there is a time extension
granted by the Commission. The report must
contain such recommendations as the investiga-
tion reveals might be necessary for adequate dis-
ciplinary procedures. The recommendations are
then considered by the Commission.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 199   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives