clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 200   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

200/Maryland Manual


Irving H. Cohen, 1981; Joseph Cowen, 1981;
Robert Gibson, 1981; Very Rev. Henry T.
Gruber, 1981; Paul McHugh, 1981; Reuben
Shiling, 1981; Sylvia Briscoe, 1982; Gregory M.
Hunter, 1982; Dr. Russell Monroe, 1982; Dr.
Kent E. Robinson, 1982; Alan M. Wilner, 1982.

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-2709

The Advisory Council on Mental Hygiene was
created within the Mental Hygiene Administra-
tion, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene,
by Chapter 746, Acts of 1976. The Council con-
sists of eighteen members appointed by the Gov-
ernor for three-year terms from public and pri-
vate agencies and groups concerned with mental
hygiene. The Council selects its own officers and
advises the Mental Hygiene Administration in
carrying out policies regarding the social, eco-
nomic, and medical problems of mental hygiene
(Code 1957, Art. 59, sec. 9).

Chairperson: Beverly B. Byron, 1981
Vice-Chairperson: Agnes M. Taylor, 1984

Morton Diamond, 1981; Hugh A. Mallon, 1981;
John Weber, 1981; Joanne T. Weinberg, 1981;
Michael H. Kelmen, 1982; Shirley Stewart,
1982; Stephen P. Yeagle, Ph.D., 1982; Eleanor
M. Tickner, 1982; Arthur V. Curtis, Jr., 1982;
Thomas Wheatley, 1982; David Williamson,
1982; Archie S. Golden, 1983; Daniel N. dark,
1983; Lois Moses Shofer, Ph.D., 1983; Karen
Diamond, 1983; Rita Knox, 1983; Roland C.
McConnell, 1983; Gerlyn Manuel, 1983; Roger
H. Michael, 1983; Clyde S. Hartlove, 1984;
Heinz W. Lenz, 1984; Graydon S. Dunlap,
1984; Helen M. Stemler, 1984.

Executive Director: Lewis A. Lyon

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-4040

The Commission on Physical Fitness was creat-
ed by Chapter 606, Acts of 1963, to protect and
improve the physical fitness of the residents of
this State.

The Commission consists of twenty-five mem-
bers, including a chairperson, all appointed by

the Governor upon the recommendation of the
Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene because
of their interest or experience in physical fitness
for both youth and adults. Members serve for a
term of four years. The Commission appoints the
Executive Director, who also serves as the Secre-
tary of the Commission.

The Commission maintains liaison with the
State Department of Education, the City of
Baltimore and county Boards of Education, pri-
vate and parochial schools, and physical fitness
commissions. It also disseminates information
about physical fitness, collects and assembles in-
formation from other departments and agencies
of the State, and employs such personnel as nec-
essary to carry out its functions.

The Governor also appoints in each county
and the City of Baltimore a local Physical Fitness
Commission, composed of from fifteen to twenty-
five residents of the particular political subdivi-
sion. The Governor designates the chairperson of
each Commission (Code 1957, Art. 41, secs.


Chairperson: John W. Stout, Jr., 1980
Secretary to Radiation Control: Robert Corcoran

Jack Ashbrook, 1981; Francesco Castagliola,
1981; H. B. Staab, 1981; Edward U. Budde-
meyer, 1982; A. L. Penniman, 1982; Dick
Duffey, 1983.

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-2744

The Radiation Control Advisory Board, estab-
lished by Chapter 88, Acts of 1960, consists of
ten members appointed by the Secretary of
Health and Mental Hygiene for four-year terms.
The Board consults with and renders its advice to
the Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene on
problems, procedures, and matters relating to ra-
diation (Code 1957, Art. 43, secs. 686-689B).


Chairman: Morton I. Rapoport, M.D.

Robert M. Altman, Ph.D., M.P.H.; Thomas C.
Andrews; Jack-M. Ashbrook; John E. Boyer;
Sarah E. Carter; Peter Chodoff, M.D., M.P.H.;


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 200   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives