clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 197   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies


Chairperson: Francis J. Colletta, 1984

Vice-Chairperson: Bernice Sigman, M.D., Universi-
ty of Maryland School of Medicine,

Ex officio members: William B. Landis; J. King
B. E. Seegar, Jr., M.D.; J. M. Joseph, M.D.;
Margaret Needham, Neil A. Holtzman, M.D.

Appointed by the President of the Senate: Julian
L. Lapides, 1983

Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Dele-
gates: Walter R. Dean, Jr., 1983

Appointed by the Governor: Dr. Barton Childs,
1981; Marvin Cornbluth, M.D., Medical and
Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland,
1981; Robert
P. Diggs, 1982; Anne C. Zehner, 1983.

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-7035

The Commission on Hereditary Disorders was
created by Chapter 695, Acts of 1973. The Com-
mission is composed of eleven members appoint-
ed for terms of four years. No member may serve
more than two consecutive terms. One member of
the Commission is a member of the Senate of
Maryland appointed by the president of the Sen-
ate, and one member is a delegate appointed by
the speaker of the House Of Delegates. Five mem-
bers of the Commission are appointed by the
Governor at his sole discretion, provided that
these members are not health professionals or in-
volved in the administration or ownership of any
health care institution or health insurance organi-
zation, or the spouse of a health professional, ad-
ministrator, or owner. Four of the members are
licensed medical physicians knowledgeable in the
diagnosis and treatment of hereditary disorders
who are appointed from a list of three names sub-
mitted at least three months prior to the date for
making appointments by the Monumental Medi-
cal Society of Baltimore, the Medical and Chir-
urgical Faculty of Maryland, the faculty of the
University of Maryland School of Medicine, and
the faculty of The Johns Hopkins University
Medical Institutions. If the list is not submitted,
the Governor shall appoint, at his sole discretion,
a member who is a licensed medical physician
knowledgeable in the diagnosis and treatment of
hereditary disorders.

The Secretary of the Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene appoints five representatives of

Health and Mental Hygiene/197

the Department of Mental Hygiene to serve as ex
officio, non-voting members of the Commission.
One of these members must represent the Mary-
land Health Planning and Development Agency.

The Commission selects from among its num-
ber a chairperson and a vice-chairperson by ma-
jority vote, who hold their respective offices for
two years. Such officers may succeed themselves.

The Commission aids in the gathering and the
dissemination of information on the treatment of
hereditary disorders in the State. It also estab-
lishes and promulgates rules, regulations, and
standards for the detection and management of
hereditary disorders. It evaluates on a continuous
basis the need for and efficiency of State pro-
grams on hereditary disorders. The Commission
also institutes and supervises educational pro-
grams and counseling on the subject of hereditary
disorders and its treatment and prevention for the
public and providers of health services. The Com-
mission may utilize existing programs and groups
for its informational purposes, whether or not
such programs and groups are governmental.

The Commission is to evaluate the entire he-
reditary disease program annually and report
such evaluations along with recommendations to
the Governor (Code 1957, Art. 43, sec. 814-821;
Art. 62, sec. 6A).


Chairperson: R. Patterson Russell, M.D., 1984

Albert M. Antlitz, 1981; Elijah Saunders, M.D.,
1981; Carmalyn Simiraglia, 1981; C. C. Haley,
Jr., 1982; John N. Hombaker, Jr., M.D., 1982;
Gayle S. Ulewicz, 1982; George Entwisle,
M.D., 1982; Lawrence Green, 1982; Torrey C.
Brown, M.D., 1983; Sheila C. Clappe, 1983;
Ruth H. Singer, M.D., 1983; Joseph A. Mead,
Jr., M.D., 1984; Charles J. Morgan, 1984;
Frances Reynolds, 1984; John W. Southard,

The Commission on High Blood Pressure was
created by Chapter 792, Acts of 1976. The Com-
mission consists of sixteen members appointed by
the Governor for terms of four years. Six mem-
bers are appointed at his discretion while the re-
maining ten members represent the American
Heart Association—Maryland Affiliate, Inc., the
Citizens Advisory Council of the Maryland Com-
prehensive Health Planning Agency, the Medical
and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland, the Mary-


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 197   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives