clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 134   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

12 West Madison Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-3648

Originally known as the Maryland Commission
on Negro History and Culture, this Commission
was created by Chapter 435, Acts of 1969, and
consisted of seven recognized authorities on Afro-
American history and culture appointed by the
Governor and assigned to the Department of
Economic and Community Development. Chapter
627, Acts of 1971, created a new Commission of
nine members, all appointed by the Governor for
three-year terms. The Governor designated both
the Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson. By an
Executive Order dated December 27, 1971, the
Commission was assigned to Morgan State Col-
lege. The Commission was reassigned to the De-
partment of Economic and Community Develop-
ment and its name changed to the Commission
on Afro-American and Indian History and Cul-
ture by Chapter 386, Acts of 1974. Chapter 120,
Acts of 1976, created the single-purpose Commis-
sion on Afro-American History and Culture as a
permanent Commission.

The present Commission consists of nine
members appointed by the Governor. The Gover-
nor designates both the Chairperson and the Vice
Chairperson. The Commission is now an indepen-
dent agency within the State government.

The Commission acts as statewide coordinator
and clearinghouse in preserving evidence of the
black experience in Maryland. It specializes in
historical preservation and research, unearthing
and collecting historical materials—art objects,
memorabilia, manuscripts, photographs, and oth-
er articles of significance to black history and cul-
ture in the State. The Commission maintains art
and historical exhibits in Annapolis and
Baltimore. It also provides exhibits and resource
materials to the community at large and to local
educational systems and institutions within the
State. In addition, the Commission conducts a
continuing statewide historic landmark survey to
locate and identify those sites and buildings sig-
nificant to the black experience in Maryland.

A portion of the artifacts collected by the
Commission will be displayed at the Banneker-
Douglass Museum of Afro-American Life and
History, scheduled to open to the public on
July 4, 1980. The Museum is housed in the old
Mt. Moriah A.M.E. Church at 84 Franklin St.,

The Commission also includes an Advisory
Committee consisting of a maximum of twenty-
one members (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 409).

Chairperson: Robert E. Hogaboom, 1981
Vice-Chaitperwn:T. Sutton Jett, 1980
Treasurer: Charles E. Fenwick, 1981

John T. Daugherty, 1979; J. Renwick Jackson,
Jr., 1980; Roy N. Staten, 1983; Wilcomb E.
Washburn, 1982

Mary Combs Barber, Director

Burton K. Kummerow, Coordinator of Research
and Sites Interpretation

Lois Green Carr, Historian
Carry W. Stone, Research Archaeologist

P. 0. Box 38
St. Mary's City 20686 Telephone: 994-0779

The St. Mary's City Commission was created
by Chapter 115, Acts of 1966, to replace the St.
Mary's City Restoration Study Commission,
which had been appointed by the Governor in
1965 (Res. No. 41, Acts of 1965).

The Commission consists of nine members
appointed by the Secretary of Economic and
Community Development with the approval of
the Governor for five-year terms. Two of the
Commissioners must be residents of St. Mary's
County and no fewer than five must be residents
of the State of Maryland. The Commissioners are
selected on the basis of ability, public spirit, and
historical and professional interest. The Commis-
sion selects its own officers. Subject to the ap-
proval of the Secretary of Economic and Commu-
nity Development, it also appoints the Director
from without its membership.

The St. Mary's City Commission was created to
preserve, develop, and maintain ancient St. Mary's
City, Maryland's first settlement and for sixty-one
years the colonial capital of the Province. The
Commission has responsibility for the reconstruct-
ed State House of 1676 located in St. Mary's City.
The Commission may acquire historical or cultur-
al properties pertaining to historic St. Mary's City
and properties necessary for the proper use and
administration of the ancient city and its environs.
The Commission may accept private gifts, as well
as federal. State, and local governmental grants.
The Commission reports annually to the Secretary
of Economic and Community Development
and to the General Assembly concerning its

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 134   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives