clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 372   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

William L. Wilson, Jr„ William L. Huff,
Lem E. Kirk, Joseph H McElwee, David
H. Miller, M.D., Willis T. Shaffer, Hugh
D. Shires.
Fifth Judicial Circuit:
Roy D. Cromwell, Chairman
Richard G. Anderson, James K. Carmody,
William B. Dulany, Michael E. Loney,
James N. Vaughan, John B. Wright, Ed-
gar C. Cast, Jr., H. Logan Hoitgrewe,
M.D., Allan W. Roadcap, John Sund-
strom, Thomas 0. Tilghman, Jr., Diane
Sixth Judicial Circuit:
Edward Bennett Williams, Chairman
Albert D. Brault, William M. Canby,
Thomas L. Craven, Daniel Warren Dono-
hue, Robert L. Kay, James T. Wharton,
John R. Benedict, Isidor M. Jacobson,
Rosalie Reilly, Donald B. Rice, Herbert
S. Schroeder, Ben C. Shaw.
Seventh Judicial Circuit:
John A. Buchanan, Chairman
Paul J. Bailey, Thomas C. Hayden, Jr.,
James J. Lombardi, Marvin B. Miller,
Thomas F. Mudd, Dallas S. Ward, Paul
D. Kerman, John M. Sine, Henry Thomas
Waring, Mabel B. Wilkinson, James T.
Marsh, Vacancy.
Eighth Judicial Circuit:
Marshall M. Meyer, Chairman
Herbert J. Belgrad, Maurice Braverman,
William R. Dorsey III, Frederick J.
Green, Jr„ M. King Hill, Jr., Marvin B.
Steinberg, Merrill L. Bank, Pearl C.
Brackett, Sidney Epstein, Raymond V.
Haysbert, Sr., Peggy A. O'Reilly, 1. D.
By Executive Orders of July 6, 1970 and
July 17, 1970 respectively, the Governor of
Maryland created the Governor's Commis-
sion on Appellate Judicial Selection and the
Governor's Commissions on Trial Court Ju-
dicial Selection.
On December 18, 1974, the Governor
issued an Executive Order restructuring the
eight Trial Court Judicial Nominating Com-
missions and the Appellate Court Judicial

Nominating Commission. Most of the
changes included in the 1974 Order were
based on recommendations made by the
Maryland State Bar Association, Inc.
An additional change directly affecting
the Administrative Office of the Courts was
the designation of the State Court Adminis-
trator as ex officio secretary of all nine
nominating commissions, with authority to
activate any commission in the event of an
existing or foreseeable judicial vacancy This
change was intended both to expedite the
filling of judicial vacancies and to provide
staff support for the nominating commissions.
The Executive Orders directed that cer-
tain members of each Judicial Nominating
Committee should be lawyers elected by
fellow lawyers of the State in an election
conducted by the Administrative Office of
the Courts pursuant to rules governing such
elections promulgated by the Court of Ap-
peals. The other members of each Judicial
Nominating Committee are laymen ap-
pointed by the Governor from the general
public with a chairman for each selection
committee also appointed by the Governor
who may be either a lawyer or a layman.
The Appellate Judicial Nominating Com-
mission is composed of thirteen members,
six of whom are lawyers, and six are laymen
with one member, elected and appointed
from each of the six Appellate Judicial Cir-
cuits. The chairman is appointed from the
State at large.
There are eight Trial Court Judicial Nom-
inating Commissions, one for each of the
eight Judicial Circuits in the State. Each of
the Trial Court Commissions is composed
of thirteen members, six of whom are law-
yers, and six are laymen. The six lawyer
members arc elected from the particular
Judicial Circuit in which they maintain a
principal office pursuant to rules governing
the elections promulgated by the Court of
Appeals of Maryland. The six appointed lay
members from each Judicial Circuit must be
residents and registered voters of that circuit
and there must be at least one representative
from each county where the Judicial Circuit
is composed of more than one county. The
chairman of each commission is appointed
from the Judicial Circuit in which he resides

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 372   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives