Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Constitutional Convention, 1776

black line

From 1774 to 1776, Maryland was governed by nine provincial conventions. On July 3, 1776, the Eighth Convention resolved that a new constitution be elected to form a new government "by the authority of the people only."

Delegates to the Ninth Convention, known now as the Constitutional Convention of 1776, were elected by propertied freemen on August 1, 1776. This Ninth Convention, which framed Maryland's first state constitution, assembled at Annapolis on August 14, 1776, and adjourned November 11, 1776.[1]

Records from the Conventions of 1774-1776 are available on the Archives of Maryland Online.

Matthew Tilghman, Chairman
Gabriel Duvall, Clerk
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
William Paca

Anne Arundel County
Charles Carroll, Barrister
Samuel Chase
John Hall
Rezin Hammond
Brice T.B. Worthington

Baltimore County
Thomas Cockey Deye
Charles Ridgely
Peter Shepherd
John Stevenson

Baltimore Town
Jeremiah Townley Chase
John Smith

Calvert County
William Fitzhugh
Charles Grahame
Benjamin Mackall IV
John Mackall

Caroline County
Henry Dickinson
Thomas Johnson
Richard Mason
Nathaniel Potter
William Richardson

Charles County
John Dent
Robert Townshend Hooe
John Parnham
Thomas Semmes

Cecil County
Benjamin Brevard
Patrick Ewing
Joseph Gilpin
David Smith 

Dorchester County
John Ennalls
Joseph Ennalls
Robert Goldsborough
James Murray

Frederick County
William Bayly, Jr.
Samuel Beall
Christopher Edelin
Adam Fischer
Samuel Hughes
Henry Schnebely
Upton Sheredine
David Shriver
John Stull
Elisha Williams
Jonathan Willson
Thomas Sprigg Wootton

Harford County
John Archer
Jacob Bond
John Love
Henry Wilson, Jr.

Kent County
Joseph Earle
Thomas Ringgold
William Ringgold
Thomas Smyth

Prince George's County
Walter Bowie
Benjamin Hall
Thomas Sim Lee
Luke Marbury
Osborn Sprigg

Queen Anne's County
William Bruff
James Kent
Solomon Wright
Turbutt Wright 

St. Mary's County
Richard Barnes
Ignatius Fenwick
Jeremiah Jordan
George Plater

Somerset County
William Horsey
Henry Lowes
George Day Scott
Gustavus Scott

Talbot County
James Lloyd Chamberlaine
Pollard Edmondson
John Gibson
Matthew Tilghman

Worcester County
Smith Bishop
Peter Chaille
Samuel Handy
Josiah E. Mitchell
John Purnell Robins

[1] For further details concerning this convention, see A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, vol. 1: A-H.

Source: Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., The Archives of Maryland, new series, An Historical List of Public Officials of Maryland, Vol. I. (Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990).

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright November 24, 2015 Maryland State Archives