Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1850-1851 William H. Purnell (W)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1855 William H. Purnell (W)
1855-1859 George W. P. Smith
1859-1863 Levin L. Derickson
1863-1865 William H. W. Farrow (U)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1872-1874 T. Howard Moore
1875-1882 Samuel H. Townsend
1882-1887 Levin L. Derickson
1891-1903 Robley D. Jones (D)
1903-1916 William F. Johnson
1916-1924 William G. Kerbin
1924-1927 Edmund H. Johnson
1927-1935 Godfrey Child
1935-1939 Thomas F. Johnson
1939-1947 William G. Kerbin, Jr. (D)
1947-1951 Franklin Upshur
1951-1955 John L. Sanford
1955-1963 Daniel T. Prettyman
1963-1967 W. Ross Hockersmith
1967-1979 John L. (Jack) Sanford, Jr.
1979-1983 Joseph E. Moore
1983-1994 B. Randall Coates (D)
1995-2011 Joel J. Todd (D)
2011-2018 Beau H. Oglesby (R) (resigned Jan. 2018)
2018-2019 William H. McDermott (R), Interim State's Attorney
2019- Kristin Heiser (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives