Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1872-1875 J. Augustus Parsons
1875-1879 James E. Ellegood (D)
1879-1883 Edward S. Toadvin (D)
1883-1884 Joseph Alexander Graham
1884-1899 Thomas F. J. Rider (D)
1899-1912 Joseph L. Bailey
1912-1916 George W. Bell
1916-1924 Curtis W. Long
1924-1927 F. Grant Goslee
1927-1935 Levin C. Bailey
1935-1951 Rex Anderson Taylor (D)
1951-1959 Hamilton P. Fox, Jr. (D)
1959-1971 Alfred T. Truitt, Jr.
1971-1975 Fulton P. Jeffers
1975-1987 Richard D. Warren
1987-2011 Davis R. Ruark (D)
2011-2016 Matthew A. Maciarello (R) (resigned)
2016-2017 Ella M. Disharoon, Acting State's Attorney (resigned Nov. 30, 2017)
2017-2019 Jamie L. Dykes, Interim State's Attorney
2019- Jamie L. Dykes, State's Attorney

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives