Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 Thomas F. J. Rider
1873-1885 Stephen P. Toadvine (D)
1885-1891 Francis Marion Slemons (D)
1891-1903 James T. Truitt (D)
1903-1915 Ernest A. Toadvin
1915-1926 T. Clayton Kelly

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1944 Ira D. Turner (D)
1944-1946 James William Slemons (D)
1946-1973 Joseph W. T. Smith (D)
1973-1987 A. James Smith
1987- Mark S. Bowen (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives