Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1662 Moses Stagwell
1662-1663 John Morgan
1663-1668 Thomas Vaughan
1668-1674 William Hemsley
1674-1679 Thomas Vaughan (resigned)
1679-1686 Thomas Impey (died Oct. 9, 1686)
1687-1689 Nicholas Lowe, Sr.

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689 Nicholas Lowe, Sr. (resigned)

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1689-1692 John Lewellin (displaced)
1692-1696 John Valliant
1696-1699 Thomas Lawrence, Jr.
1699-1714 Robert Finley (died c. June 1714)
1714-1721 Foster Turbutt (died Feb. 21, 1721)
1721-1727 Philip Feddeman
1727-1734 Tench Francis
1734-1738 Thomas Bullen
1738-1777 John Leeds

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1785 Richard Skinner
1785-1794 Benjamin Stevens
1794-1801 William Stoddert Bond
1801-1835 Jacob Loockerman

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1835-1851 James Parrott


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1865 Samuel T. Hopkins

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 Samuel T. Hopkins

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 John Baggs
1873-1884 J. Frank Turner (D)
1884-1896 Thomas Hughlett (died March 31, 1896)
1896-1897 Wilfred Bateman (D)
1897-1915 Francis G. Wrightson (D)
1915-1926 Charles B. Lloyd

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 Charles B. Lloyd
1930-1942 Thomas J. Faulkner (D)
1942-1945 Laurence B. Craig
1945-1946 W. Lester Ball (died 1945)
1946-1958 John T. Baynard

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1985 John T. Baynard (retired)
Mary Ann Shortall (D)
2018- Kathi Dulin Duvall (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives