Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1658-1661 Roger Isham
1661-1674 Walter Hall (resigned)
1674-1677 Edward Clarke (died c. Feb. 1677)
1677-1680 John Manley
1680-1684 Thomas Grunwin (resigned)
1684-1686 Thomas Impey
1686-1689 John Bloomfield (forced out by Protestant Associators)

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689-1692 William Taylard

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1692 John Skipwith (died Oct. 1692)
1692-1695 Henry Denton (resigned)
1695-1698 William Bladen (resigned)
1698-1705 William Aisquith (resigned)
1705-1709 George Muschamp (died Nov. 1709)
1709-1717 Henry Lowe, Sr. (died Nov. 1717)
1717-1728 Michael Jenifer (died Aug. 1728)
1728-1740 Thomas Brooke III (resigned)
1740-1744 Philip Key (resigned)
1744-1765 Richard Ward Key (died April 10, 1765)
1765-1770 Benjamin Young, Jr.
1770-1777 Daniel Wolstenholme

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1780-1793 Timothy Bowes
1794-1843 Joseph Harris

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1843-1851 William T. Maddox


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1857 James T. Blackiston
1863-1865 John A. Camalier

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 John A. Camalier

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 John A. Camalier
1873-1891 J. Frank Ford (D)
1891-1897 James J. Greenwell (D)
1897-1921 Enoch B. Abell
1921-1926 Joseph M. Mattingly

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1938 Joseph M. Mattingly
1938-1958 C. Benedict Greenwell (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1966 C. Benedict Greenwell (D) (died May 2, 1966)
1966-1969 Mary R. Fowler
1969-1977 Dorothy Bailey Kucher (D)
1977-1990 Mary R. Bell Miles (D)
Evelyn W. Arnold (D)
2006-2017 Joan W. Williams (D)
2017-2018 Tracy L. Cantrell, Acting Clerk
2018- Debra J. Mills Burch (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives