In St. Mary's County, the legislative and executive branches of County government are administered by the Board of County Commissioners, also known as the Commissioners of St. Mary's County.

[photo, Chesapeake Building, 41770 Baldridge St., Leonardtown, Maryland] The Board of County Commissioners consists of five members who are elected to four-year terms. The Council President is elected at large by voters of the entire County, while the remaining members are each elected by the voters in their respective commissioner districts. Annually, the Vice-President is chosen by the Council. The County Commissioners take office on the first Monday in December after their election (Code Local Government Article, secs. 9-401 through 9-406).

Chesapeake Building, 41770 Baldridge St., Leonardtown, Maryland, November 2017. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Formerly located in the County Courthouse, the Board of County Commissioners moved in 1978 to its present location at the Chesapeake Building, 41770 Baldridge St., Leonardtown, in the County Governmental Center at the former Leonard Hall School.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright August 03, 2022 Maryland State Archives