Appointed by Governor & Council:
1696 William Cooper (died Aug. 1696)

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1696-1698 Joshua Cecil
1698-1699 Edward Willett
1699-1700 Henry Bonner (resigned March 1700)
1700-1702 Edward Willett
1702 Henry Bonner
1702-1709 Thomas Dent
1709-1711 Edward Willett
1711 Richard Dallam
1712-1713 Robert Dalton
1713-1719 Robert Hall (died Dec. 1719)
1720 Daniel Dulany
1720-1740 Alexander Contee (died Dec. 24, 1740)
1741-1749 Thomas Lee (died July 1749)
1749-1767 Joseph Sim (resigned)
1767-1777 Thomas Sim Lee

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1779 John Read Magruder
1779-1780 Alexander Contee
1780-1793 John Read Magruder (resigned)
1793-1818 John Read Magruder, Jr.
1818-1819 Edward Harwood (resigned April 17, 1819)
1819-1826 Aquila Beall
1826 Edward Harwood
1827-1840 Aquila Beall

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1840-1851 John B. Brooke (D)


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1854 Owen Norfolk (died Nov. 1854)
1854-1855 Edward W. Belt
1855-1861 Charles S. Middleton
1861-1863 George W. Wilson (pro tem)
1863-1865 Frederick Sasscer

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 Charles H. Haines

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1879 Henry Brooke (D)
1879-1885 William A. Jarboe
1885-1896 John W. Belt (died Dec. 1896)
1896-1903 James B. Belt (R)
1903-1909 Benjamin D. Stephen
1909-1915 Richard N. Ryon (R)
1915-1926 Summerfield D. Hall

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1934 Summerfield D. Hall
1934-1946 Brice Bowie (D)
1946-1958 W. Waverly Webb

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1974 W. Waverly Webb
1974-1978 Charles E. Callow
1978-1990 Norman L. Pritchett
1990-2001 Vivian Jenkins (D)
2001 Cheryl L. Horty, Acting Clerk
Rosalyn E. Pugh (D)
2006-2010 Peggy A. Magee (D)
2010-2014 Marilynn M. Bland (D)
2014- Sydney J. Harrison (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 02, 2017 Maryland State Archives