[photo, County Administration Building, Gov. Oden Bowie Drive, Upper Marlboro, Maryland] In Prince George's County, the County Council formed in 1970 as the County's legislative body, when the voters ratified a charter form of government on November 3, 1970.

The County Council is the County's legislative body. It also sits as the District Council on zoning and land use matters, and as the Board of Health on health policy matters.

County Administration Building, Gov. Oden Bowie Drive, Upper Marlboro, Maryland, October 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

The Council consists of eleven members: nine district members and two at-large members, who are elected to four-year terms. Voters from each of nine Council Districts elect a single member of the Council. Two At-Large Council members are elected by the voters of the entire County. Each Council member's term begins on the first Monday in December following election. From among its members, the Council chooses the Chair and Vice-Chair to serve a one-year term. (County Charter, Article III, secs. 301-323).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright April 06, 2022 Maryland State Archives