[photo, Sasscer Administration Building, 14201 School Lane, Upper Marlboro, Maryland]


Educational matters that affect Prince George's County come under the control of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-401 through 4-403).

Sasscer Administration Building, 14201 School Lane, Upper Marlboro, Maryland, October 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

The Board is composed of fourteen members. Nine are elected by the voters to four-year terms (Code Election Law Article, secs. 8-801 through 8-806). Three are appointed by the County Executive, and one by the County Council to four-year terms. A nonvoting student member, selected by the Prince George's Regional Association of Student Governments, serves a one-year term (Code Education Article, secs. 3-1002 through 3-1014). The County Executive names the chair and vice-chair (Code Education Article, sec. 3-1004) The Chief Executive Officer serves as executive officer, secretary, and treasurer of the Board (Code Education Article, sec. 4-102).


From 1916 to 2013, the Superintendent of Schools administered the Prince George's County Public School System; however, effective April 9, 2013, the Chief Executive Officer assumed these responsibilities (Code Education Article, secs. 4-102; 4-202 through 4-206; Chapter 147, Acts of 2013).

From a list of three nominees recommended by the Search Committee, the County Executive selects the Chief Executive Officer. After contract terms have been negotiated, the Board of Education appoints the Chief Executive Officer to a four-year term (Code Education Article, sec. 4-201.1; Chapter 147, Acts of 2013).


Founded in 1958, Prince George's Community College is based in Largo. College extension centers, however, are found throughout the County: at University Town Center in Hyattsville, Laurel College Center in Laurel, and Andrews Air Force Base in Camp Springs.


Established in 1946, the Prince George's County Memorial Library System is the public library for Prince George's County. The System includes nineteen branch libraries: Accokeek (1953), Baden, Beltsville, Bladensburg, Bowie, Fairmount Heights, Glenarden, Greenbelt (1955), Hillcrest Heights, Hyattsville (1964), Largo-Kettering, Laurel (1967), Mount Rainier, New Carrollton, Oxon Hill (1967), South Bowie (2013), Spauldings (1987), Surratts-Clinton, and Upper Marlboro.

Bladensburg Branch Library. This Library formerly housed the Bladensburg Elementary School from 1925 to 1978.

Hyattsville Branch Library. The first Library in the County to be built by the County, the Hyattsville Branch Library also holds the Library System's administrative offices.

Laurel Branch Library. The Stanley Memorial Library is the Laurel Branch Library. Opened in 1967, it was named after the family of Charles H. Stanley, who served as a member of the Laurel Board of Commissioners (1880-82), as Mayor of Laurel (1891-93), and as Comptroller of Maryland (1911-12).

Spauldings Branch Library. Located in District Heights, the Spauldings Branch Library also serves Capital Heights, Forestville, and Suitland. In 1947, it opened in the basement of the Presbyterian Church on Gateway Boulevard. At its present site on Old Silver Hill Road, it opened in 1987.

Upper Marlboro Branch Library. Library holdings are housed in the former Town Post Office (1931-90), which closed in 1990, and was renovated for use as the Library.

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives