[photo, City Hall entrance (view from Vinson St.), 111 Maryland Ave., Rockville, Maryland] Montgomery County has nineteen municipalities: Barnesville; Brookeville; Chevy Chase, Town of ; Chevy Chase View; Chevy Chase Village; Chevy Chase, Village of, Section 3; Chevy Chase, Village of, Section 5; Gaithersburg; Garrett Park; Glen Echo; Kensington; Laytonsville; Martin's Additions; North Chevy Chase; Poolesville; Rockville; Somerset; Takoma Park; and Washington Grove.

City Hall entrance (view from Vinson St.), 111 Maryland Ave., Rockville, Maryland, February 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

The oldest municipality in Montgomery County is Brookeville, incorporated in 1808, followed by Rockville (1860), Poolesville (1867), Gaithersburg (1878), Barnesville (1888), Takoma Park (1890), Laytonsville (1892), Kensington (1894), Garrett Park (1898), Glen Echo (1904), Somerset (1906), Chevy Chase Village (1910), Town of Chevy Chase (1918), Washington Grove (1937), Village of Chevy Chase, Sections 3 and 5 (1982), Martin's Additions (1985), Chevy Chase View (1993), and North Chevy Chase (1996).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives