Appointed by Governor (Chapter 146, Acts of 1817 December session):
1818-1822 John Montgomery

Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1822-1823 John Montgomery
1823-1829 Thomas Kell, Jr.
1829-1848 William B. Bond
1848-1851 William Galloway

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1862 William H. Dallam
1862-1865 George Yellott Maynadier

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 George Yellott Maynadier

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1871 Patrick H. Rutledge
1871-1879 John Thomas C. Hopkins
1879-1887 George Yellott Maynadier
1887-1891 J. Edwin Webster (R)
1891-1899 Walter W. Preston
1900-1904 James W. McNabb
1904-1916 J. Royston Stifler
1916-1922 Walter R. McComas
1922-1933 W. Worthington Hopkins
1933-1935 Meyer H. Getz
1935-1951 D. Paul McNabb (D)
1951-1955 Robert H. Archer, Jr. (D)
1955-1963 Harry E. Dyer, Jr. (D)
1963-1978 Edwin H. W. Harlan, Jr. (D)
1978-1982 Peter C. Cobb (D)
1983-2019 Joseph I. Cassilly (R)
2019-2023 Albert J. Peisinger, Jr. (R)
2023- Alison M. Healey (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 20, 2023 Maryland State Archives