[photo, Barry Glassman, County Executive, Harford County, Maryland] BARRY GLASSMAN
County Executive (Republican), 2014-22

County Executive, Harford County, December 1, 2014 to December 5, 2022.

Executive Board, Northeastern Maryland Additive Manufacturing Innovation Authority, 2014-16. Chair, Board of Estimates, Harford County, 2014-22. Member, Audit Advisory Board, Harford County, 2014-22. Chair, Board of Directors, Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 2016, 2022 (member, 2014-22; vice-chair, 2021-22). Member, Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2014-22; Board of Visitors, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 2014-22. Executive Committee, Joint Land Use Study, Aberdeen Proving Ground, 2015. Board of Directors, Maryland Economic Development Corporation, 2015-22. Executive Board, Regional Additive Manufacturing Partnership of Maryland, 2016-22. Member, Central Maryland Regional Transit Plan Commission, 2018-22; Blueprint for Maryland's Future Funding Formula Work Group, 2019.

Member of Senate (Republican), representing District 35 (Harford County), January 3, 2008 to December 1, 2014. Resigned December 1, 2014. Member, Finance Committee, 2008-14 (transportation subcommittee, 2008-11, 2013-14). Member, Joint Committee on Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight, 2011-14; Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 2011-14; Joint Committee on Unemployment Insurance Oversight, 2011-14. Senate Co-Chair, Protocol Committee, 2011-14. Member, Joint Oversight Committee on the Maryland Health Benefit Exchange, 2014-14. Senate Chair, Harford County Delegation, 2008-14. Member, Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2008-14. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (agriculture & energy committee).

Member, Governor's Commission on Small Business, 2010-14; Maryland Health Care Reform Coordinating Council, 2011-14. Chair, Work Group to Study the Laws and Policies related to the Distribution of Money to Volunteer and Career [Fire] Companies, 2013. Member, Commission to Study the Regulation of Payroll Services, 2013-14.

Member of House of Delegates (Republican), representing District 35A (Harford County), January 13, 1999 to January 2008. Member, Environmental Matters Committee, 2003-08 (agriculture, agriculture preservation, & open space subcommittee, 2004-08; local government & bi-county agencies subcommittee, 2004-06; motor vehicles & transportation subcommittee, 2004-08; abatement of drug-related nuisances work group, 2004; motor vehicle issues work group, 2004; land use & ethics subcommittee, 2007-08; co-chair, highway safety & speed cameras work group, 2004); Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review, 2003-08; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2007-08. Member, Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1999-2003 (motor vehicles subcommittee, 1999-2003); Economic Matters Committee, 2003 (banking, economic development, science & technology subcommittee, 2003; workers' compensation subcommittee, 2003); Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2003, 2007; Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, 2005-06. Chair, Harford County Delegation, 1999-2000, 2003-08. Chair, Republican Policy Committee, Republican Caucus, 2003-08. Member, Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-08; Maryland Rural Caucus, 2002-08; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-08; Taxpayers Protection Caucus, 2003-08; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2005-08. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (financial services committee, 2005-07; communications, financial services & interstate commerce committee, 2007-08).

Member, Task Force on Resource-Based Industry in Maryland, 2000-02; Task Force to Study Motor Vehicle Salvage Inspection and Titling Practices, 2001-02; Study Commission on Public Funding of Campaigns in Maryland, 2002-04; Task Force on the Future for Growth and Development in Maryland, 2006-08.

Member, County Council, Harford County, 1990-98 (vice-president, 1995).

Born in Havre de Grace, Maryland, March 24, 1962. Attended Harford County public schools; Washington College, B.A. (political science), 1984 (president, student government association). Small business owner. Claims investigative specialist, Travelers Insurance Company, 1986-90. Utility claims representative, 1990-2012. Member, National Association of Counties, 1990-98 (rural affairs committee); Maryland Claims Adjusters, 1990-. President, Maryland Association of Counties, 2019 (board of directors, 1990-98, 2014-; secretary, 2016-17; 2nd vice-president, 2017-18). Member, American Sheep Council; Harford County 4-H Club; Harford County Farm Bureau; Level Volunteer Fire Company, 1978- (president, 1989); Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Society. Executive Board, Baltimore Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, 2012-. Board of Directors, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore, 2014-. Recipient, Henry Catlin Leadership Medal, Washington College, 1984. Legislator Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 2006. Senator William H. Amoss Memorial Legislative Award, Maryland State Firemen's Association, 2009. Power 100 List, Daily Record, 2021. Married; one child, one grandchild.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright January 26, 2023 Maryland State Archives