Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44):
1873-1875 Edmund Jamison (D)
1875-1877 John C. Dunham
1877-1879 Thomas Coddington
1879-1881 George D. White (R)
1881-1883 Edmund Jamison (D)
1883-1885 Moses R. Hammil
1885-1887 John H. Riley
1887-1889 Edward R. Sollers
1889-1891 Edward N. Casteel
1891-1893 Edmund Jamison (D)
1893-1895 Charles E. Wegman
1895-1897 Austin Brown (R)
1897-1899 William P. Lee
1899-1901 Andrew J. Oester
1901-1903 William A. Maffett (R)
1903-1905 Edward J. Frantz
1905-1907 Albert L. Lee
1907-1909 Austin Brown (R)
1909-1911 Andrew Shartzer (R)
1911-1913 William A. Maffett (R)
1913-1915 Bert C. Scott
1915-1917 Albert Ashby
1917-1921 Roy A. Winters
1922-1923 Jesse J. Ashby, Jr. (R)
1923-1926 Guy Yutzy (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII; added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 William D. Casteel (R)
1930-1934 Walter H. Haenftling (D)
1934-1938 Clarence Spear (D)
1938-1942 George E. Coddington (R)
1942-1943 J. William Owens (D)
1943-1946 George E. Coddington (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44, amended by Chapter 786, Acts of 1945, ratified Nov. 5, 1946):
1946-1950 Juniper S. Teats (R)
1950-1957 Paul W. Fisher (resigned June 1957)
1957-1970 James E. Frantz (R)
1970-1974 John F. Browning (D)
1974-1982 John (June) Evans, Jr.
1982-1985 Franklin G. Finch (died June 23, 1985)
1985-1994 M. Van Scott Evans (R)
1994-1996 Robert E. Comes (D)
1996-1997 Randy L. Sines (R) (resigned Sept. 4, 1997)
1997-2006 P. Richard Sanders, Jr. (R)
2006-2010 Gary A. Berkebile (R)
2010- Robert E. Corley (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives