Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1873-1879 William L. Rawlings
1879-1885 William H. Hagans
1885-1886 John S. Laughlin (died March 10, 1886)
1886-1888 Samuel Lawton (R) (resigned April 1, 1888)
1888-1901 James W. White (R)
1901-1926 Edwin E. Friend (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1934 Edwin E. Friend (R)
1934-1956 Vernie R. Smouse (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1966 Vernie R. Smouse (R)
1966-1978 Joseph H. Welch
1978-2009 Joseph F. DiSimone (R)
2009- Rita L. Watson (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives