[photo, United Fire Engine Company no. 3, 79 South Market St., Frederick, Maryland] Frederick County has twelve municipalities: Brunswick, Burkittsville, Emmitsburg, Frederick, Middletown, Mount Airy, Myersville, New Market, Rosemont, Thurmont, Walkersville, and Woodsboro. Frederick was the first locality to incorporate in Frederick County in 1816. It was followed by Emmitsburg (1824), Thurmont (1831), Middletown (1833), Woodsboro (1836), New Market (1878), Brunswick (1890), Walkersville (1892), Burkittsville (1894), Mount Airy (1894), Myersville (1904), and Rosemont (1953).

United Fire Engine Company no. 3, 79 South Market St., Frederick, Maryland, April 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, Town Hall, 39 West Main St., New Market, Maryland]

Town Hall, 39 West Main St., New Market, Maryland, November 2002. Photos by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives