[photo, Old City Hall, 307 Gay St., Cambridge, Maryland] Dorchester County has nine municipalities: Brookview, Cambridge, Church Creek, East New Market, Eldorado, Galestown, Hurlock, Secretary, and Vienna. The oldest of these is Cambridge, the county seat, formed in 1793. Thereafter, East New Market incorporated in 1832, followed by Vienna in 1833, Church Creek in 1867, Hurlock in 1892, Secretary in 1900, Eldorado in 1947, Galestown in 1951, and Brookview in 1953.

  • Map of Urban Areas in Dorchester County, 2010

  • Old City Hall, 307 Gay St., Cambridge, Maryland, September 2015. Photo by David R. Herron.

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives