[photo, Julia W. Gouge, President, Board of County Commissioners, Carroll County] JULIA WALSH GOUGE
Member, Board of County Commissioners (Republican), 1986-94, 1998-2010

President, Board of County Commissioners, Carroll County, December 1998 to December 6, 2010 (member, 1986-94, 1998-2010; vice-president, 1986-90; secretary, 1990-94). Member, Board of Health, Carroll County, 1986-94, 1998-2010; Economic Development Commission, Carroll County, 1998-2002; Carroll County Council of Governments, 2002-10. Chair, Board of Directors, Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 2006 (member, 1998-2010; vice-chair, 2005). Member, Fort George G. Meade Regional Growth Management Committee, 2008-10.

Member, Town Council, Town of Hampstead, 1979-83. Mayor, Town of Hampstead, 1983-86. President, Board of Trustees, Carroll Community College, 1990-94, 1999-. Member, Governor's Pesticide Council, 1990-94; Air Quality Control Advisory Council, 1992-94; Advisory Group on Forest Conservation, 1993; Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission, 8th Commission District, 2011-15.

Born in Snydersburg, Maryland, in 1940. Attended University of Maryland; Carroll County Community College. Former owner and operator of floral business in Carroll County. Member, National Council for Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching, 1984-94. President, Maryland Association of Counties, 1994 (board of directors, 1988-94; chair, legislative committee, 1994, member, 1992-94, 1998-2010). Board of Governors, Carroll County Farm Museum, 1998-2002. Board of Directors, National Association of Counties, 2002- (ethics committe, 1990-94; leadership steering committee, 1993-94; school to work transition committee, 1993-94; welfare reform task force, 1993-94; task force on the implementation of the national crime bill, 1994; environmental, energy & land use steering committee, 1999-2002; credentials & elections committee, 1999-; women of naco, 1999- [treasurer, 2001-04; vice-chair, 2006]; labor & employment steering committee, 2000-01; vice-chair, water subcommittee, 2006; rural action caucus, 2006). Chair, Board of Trustees, Local Government Insurance Trust. Former chair, Carroll County Republican Central Committee. President, Carroll County Republican Women's Club. President, Carroll County Agricultural Center. Meritorious Service Award for Agriculture, University of Maryland, 1982. 4-H Alumni Award for State of Maryland, 1985. 4-H Alumni Award for Carroll County, 1991. National Leadership Award, National Council for Continuing Education, and Training, 2003. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2004, 2006. Member, Shiloh United Methodist Church, Hampstead, Maryland (chair, board of trustees, 1998-). Married; four children, nine grandchildren.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives