[color photo, Carroll County Historic Courthouse Courthouse Square, Westminster, Maryland] Carroll County has eight municipalities: Hampstead, Manchester, Mount Airy, New Windsor, Sykesville, Taneytown, Union Bridge, and Westminster.

Carroll County Historic Courthouse, Courthouse Square, Westminster, Maryland, January 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, Town Hall (Town House), 7547 Main St., Sykesville, Maryland] The oldest municipality in Carroll County is Westminster, the county seat, incorporated in 1818. Later, Manchester began its own government in 1833, followed by Taneytown (1836), New Windsor (1843), Union Bridge (1872), Hampstead (1888), Mount Airy (1894), and Sykesville (1904).

Town Hall (Town House), 7547 Main St., Sykesville, Maryland, June 2019. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright December 14, 2023 Maryland State Archives