[photo, Town Hall, 4 North Second St., Denton, Maryland] Caroline County has ten municipalities: Denton, Federalsburg, Goldsboro, Greensboro, Henderson, Hillsboro, Marydel, Preston, Ridgely, and Templeville. The oldest town in Caroline County is Denton, the county seat, incorporated in 1802. Thereafter, local governments formed at Federalsburg (1823), Greensboro (1826), Hillsboro (1853), Templeville (1865), Preston (1892), Ridgely (1896), Goldsboro (1906), Marydel (1929), and Henderson (1949).

Town Hall, 4 North Second St., Denton, Maryland, August 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 17, 2022 Maryland State Archives