Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1778 Thomas Jones
1778-1824 William Buchanan (died Dec. 19, 1824)
1825-1851 David M. Perine

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1862 James L. Ridgely (resigned Sept. 30, 1862)
1862-1863 Samuel F. Butler
1863-1865 John Philpot

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 John Philpot

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Oliver P. Magill
1873-1879 Joseph B. Mitchell (D)
1879-1881 William H. Koller (died April 14, 1881)
1881-1887 Thomas Philpot
1887-1893 Benjamin W. Ady
1893-1899 Henry N. Hebb
1899-1905 Harrison Rider
1905-1907 John E. Bolte (died Feb. 16, 1907)
1907-1926 William J. Peach

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 William J. Peach
1930-1956 Joseph P. Connor (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1961 Joseph P. Connor (D)
1961 Edgar J. DeMoss
1962-1966 Matthew T. Hogan
1966-1978 J. Louis Davis
1978-1998 Peter J. Basilone (D)
1998-2021 Grace G. Connolly (D) (retired April 7, 2021)
2021 Tanya F. Brooks (D) (Acting Register)
2021- Alexis Burrell Rohde (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives