Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1650-1658 Andrew Skinner
[1652-1653, 1656 Robert Burle]
1658-1661 Francis Stockett
1661-1664 Andrew Skinner
1664 Theodore Lewis
1665-1674 Nathaniel Heathcoat (resigned)
1674-1682 Richard Boughton
1682-1685 Henry Hanslap (resigned)
1685 Henry Bonner
1686-1689 Francis Downs (forced out by Protestant Associators)

Appointed by act of Convention:
1689-1692 Henry Bonner

Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1692-1694 Thomas Briscoe (transferred to Calvert County)
1694-1698 Christopher Vernon (resigned)
1698-1699 Christopher Gregory (died Aug. 18, 1699)
1699-1703 William Taylard (discharged)
1703 Evan Thomas
1703-1709 Thomas Bordley (resigned)
1709-1711 Robert Hall (transferred to Prince George's County)
1711-1734 John Beale (died April 1734)
1734-1765 John Brice II (resigned)
1765-1777 John Brice III

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1810 Nicholas Harwood
1810-1845 William S. Green

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1845-1851 Joseph H. Nicholson (W)


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1865 Nicholas H. Green (died Aug, 19, 1865)
1865 Abram Claude

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1866 Sprigg Harwood (D)
1866-1867 George E. Gambrill

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1894 Sprigg Harwood (D) (died Dec. 17, 1894)
1894-1895 John C. Bannon (D)
1895-1918 George Wells
1918-1924 William N. Woodward
1924-1926 William Martin Brady (acting)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1927 William Martin Brady (acting)
1927-1933 Frank S. Revell (resigned)
1934-1938 Frank A. Munroe
1938-1954 John H. Hopkins III (D)
1954-1958 George T. Cromwell

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1962 George T. Cromwell (died July 21, 1962)
1962 Elleanor G. Owings (acting)
1962-1966 Louis N. Phipps (D)
1966-1972 Marjorie S. Holt (R)
1972-1982 W. Garrett Larrimore
1982 Joseph F. Foster (acting)
1982-1986 E. Aubrey Collison (D)
1986-1990 H. Erle Schafer (D)
1990-1994 Mary McNally Rose (R)
1994-2018 Robert P. Duckworth (R)
2018- Scott A. Poyer (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives