[photo, Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St., Annapolis, Maryland] Since adoption of the County Charter in 1964, the County Council has served as the Legislative Branch of County government (County Charter, Art. II, secs. 201-209; Art. III, secs. 301-314).

Elected by the Voters to four-year terms, the County Council consists of seven members. Annually, the Council chooses the Chair and Vice-Chair (County Charter, Art. III, sec. 302)

Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St., Annapolis (Anne Arundel County), Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright July 11, 2023 Maryland State Archives