[photo, Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St. (from Northwest St.), Annapolis, Maryland] The Administrative Office is headed by the Chief Administrative Officer who supervises the executive branch offices and departments of County government (County Charter, secs. 504-509; County Code, Art. 2, sec. 1-301).

Directly under the Administrative Office are eight offices: Budget, Central Services, Communications, Community Support Grants, Finance, Government Relations, Information Technology, and Personnel.

Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St. (from Northwest St.), Annapolis, Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


The Office of the Budget is administered by the Budget Officer. Under supervision of the Chief Administrative Officer, the Budget Officer formulates the County budget, and helps agencies prepare their budgets, improve budget execution, and reduce costs (County Charter, Art. V, secs. 515-516; Art. VII, 701-722).


[photo, Office of Central Services, Heritage Office Complex, 2660 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland] The Office of Central Services administers purchasing for the County. The maintenance, operation, and management of all land and buildings owned by or operated by the County also are overseen by the Office, which makes, renews, and cancels all contracts of insurance in which the County, or any office, department, institution, board, commission or other agency of the County government is named as insured.

Office of Central Services, Heritage Office Complex, 2660 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland, March 2017. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

To other County offices, departments, boards, institutions, and agencies, the Office makes available duplicating, stenographic, mail, messenger, stores, transportation, central garage, automotive maintenance, data processing or other central services (County Charter, Art. V, secs. 523-524; Art. IX, secs. 901-911).


The Office of Communications started as the Office of Public Information, reformed as the Office of Multimedia Communications, and then as the Office of Communications.


Community Support Grants are awarded to nonprofit organizations to help build up their capacity, increase their impact, and operate more efficiently and effectively to improve and enrich the quality of life in the community. Also, capital grants are awarded to enable nonprofit organizations to purchase equipment and related supplies, or to make capital improvements to renovate, remodel, restore, or construct buildings.


[photo, Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St. (from Northwest St.), Annapolis, Maryland] For Anne Arundel County, the Office of Finance is headed by the Controller, who administers the financial affairs of the County, including the collection of State and County taxes, special assessments, utility assessments and charges, fees and other revenues and funds of every kind due to the County. Moreover, the Controller is responsible for the enforcement of the collection of taxes; the custody and safekeeping of all funds and securities belonging to or by law deposited with, distributed to, or handled by the County; the disbursement of County funds; the keeping and supervision of all accounts (County Charter, Art. V, secs. 511-514).

Office of Finance, Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St., Annapolis, Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


In 1987, Information Services was part of the Office of Central Services. The Office of Information Technology was created in 2002.

The Office of Information Technology is responsible for all data processing needs of County government. The Office maintains the County’s electronic infrastructure and digital security, and offers staff training in updated applications. In addition, the Office oversees the County’s Geographic Information Services, Cable Television Administration; and the community television station (Channel 98).

Heading the Office, the Information Technology Officer is appointed by the County Executive (County Charter, Art. V, secs. 529A-529B).

In cooperation with the Federal Communication Commission, Cable Television Administration monitors and regulates all cable television providers operating in the County (Code of Federal Regulations, Title 47).

Geographic Information Systems is responsible for managing County geographic information. Additionally, this agency overseas automation projects, enterprise data viewing tools, software maintenance, and spacial data acquisition.


The Office of Personnel is administered by the Personnel Officer. The Personnel Officer conducts or directs investigations into the character and fitness of applicants for appointment to the classified service; prepares and conducts examinations for the appointment or promotion of positions in the classified service; and organizes recruitment plans to attract qualified persons to County government. The Personnel Officer also maintains and certifies to the appointing authority eligibility lists setting forth the names and comparative qualifications of those eligible for appointment.

The Personnel Officer authorizes the payment of all payrolls for employees in the classified service; directs and enforces the maintenance by all County departments, boards, commissions, offices, and agencies of the personnel provisions in the County Charter and their related rules, regulations, and ordinances; and submits all proposed personnel rules and regulations to the Personnel Board for its review and comment prior to adoption (County Charter, Art. V, secs. 517-521; Art. VIII, secs. 801-814; County Code, Art. 6).


Authorized by the General Assembly in July 2020, the Resilience Authority of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County was established by the County Council in October 2022 (Chapter 236, Acts of 2020). Its formation was a response to the impacts of climate change on communities across the State, including changes in temperatures, major rains and storms, sea level rise, and precipitation patterns.

In Annapolis and the County, the Authority has and may exercise all powers necessary or convenient to undertake, finance, manage, acquire, own, convey, or support resilience infrastructure projects.

The Authority is governed by its Board of Directors, which consists of twelve members who serve four-year terms. Nine of these are appointed by the County Executive, and three by the Mayor of Annapolis. Nine serve as nonvoting ex officio advisors. With Resilience Authority advice and the Annapolis Mayor's consent, the County Executive annually designates the Chair. The Director is appointed by the County Executive with Resilience Authority advice and the Annapolis Mayor's consent.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright March 29, 2024 Maryland State Archives