Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1791-1811 John Lynn
1811-1817 Hanson Briscoe
1817 William McMahon
1817-1845 Aza Beall

Appointed by Governor to 7-year term (Chapter 224, Acts of 1836, confirmed by Chapter 160, Acts of 1837):
1845-1851 Henry Bruce


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1865 Horace Resley (W)

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 Horace Resley

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 Horace Resley
1873-1901 Theodore Luman (R)
1901-1913 John W. Young
1913-1926 Lloyd L. Shaffer

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1934 Lloyd L. Shaffer
1934-1946 Robert Jackson (R)
1946-1958 Joseph E. Boden

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1969 Joseph E. Boden
1969-1970 L. Fred Dean
1970-1974 Paul C. Haberlein
1974-2001 Raymond W. Walker (R)
2001- Dawne D. Lindsey (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 01, 2017 Maryland State Archives