Chair (chosen by Board in July, 1-year term): Elizabeth M. Morgan, Ph.D., Superintendent of Schools, Washington County

Ex officio: William J. AuMiller, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Allegany County; Donald L. Alexander, Ed.D., President, Allegany College of Maryland; Catherine R. Gira, Ph.D., President, Frostburg State University (John Bowman, Ph.D., alternate); Wendell D. Teets, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Garrett County; Stephen J. Herman, Ph.D., President, Garrett Community College; Guy Altieri, Ed.D., President, Hagerstown Community College; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., Chancellor, University System of Maryland (Charles R. Middleton, Ph.D., alternate).

Contact: Patricia J. Yoder, Director of Education, Tri-County Council for Western Maryland

113 Baltimore St., Suite 301, Cumberland, MD 21502
(301) 777-2158; fax: (301) 777-2495
e-mail: tyoder@tccwmd.org

The Regional Education Service Agency of Appalachian Maryland (RESA) worked to raise the educational level of residents in Appalachian Maryland (Allegany, Garrett and Washington counties). The Agency originated in 1967 as the Educational Subcommittee of the Appalachian Regional Commission. A formal organization by 1970, it became a separate administrative unit of government in 1973, by the Attorney General's approval of a joint agreement by the eight member institutions as allowed by statute (Chapter 533, Acts of 1973).

Among educational institutions and organizations, the Agency fostered cooperation and established goals, policies, and procedures for regional education projects, which it planned, coordinated, and implemented. It promoted the improvement of educational, scientific and literary facilities and programs for participating schools. The Agency also helped member institutions identify needs that could be met by regional programs or services. In addition, it helped develop, implement, review, and evaluate interagency and institutional projects.

For Allegany County, member institutions included Allegany College of Maryland, Frostburg State University, and the Allegany County Board of Education. For Garrett County, they were Garrett Community College and the Garrett County Board of Education. Washington County was represented by Hagerstown Community College and the Washington County Board of Education. The University System of Maryland also was a member.

On June 30, 2006, the Agency merged with the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland. Its functions transferred to the new Education Subcommittee of the Tri-County Board of Directors.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives