Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:
Joseph J. Siemek, Chair (chosen by Authority in July, 1-year term), 2024

Mark A. DeLuca; Clifford J. Engle; Phillip S. Harris; Rhody R. Holthaus; Guillermo H. (Willie) Wainer; D'Andrea L. Walker; one vacancy. Terms expire 2024.

Ex officio: Charles C. Glass, Ph.D., Director, Maryland Environmental Service

Andrew L. Kays, Executive Director

Tower II, Suite 402
100 South Charles St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 3330
(410) 333-2730; fax: (410) 333-2721
e-mail: authority@nmwda.org
web: http://nmwda.org/

Annual Report to Governor & to chief executive officer & legislative body of each participating county due within first 90 days of fiscal year (Code Natural Resources Article, sec. 3-923).
Andrew L. Kays, Executive Director (appointed by Authority with Governor's approval)
e-mail: akays@nmwda.org

As a public corporation, the Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal Authority was established in October 1980 (Chapter 871, Acts of 1980).

The Authority provides waste management planning and financing services for the private sector and for its member jurisdictions that include Baltimore City, and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford, Howard and Montgomery counties. In doing so, the Authority seeks to reduce waste and minimize waste disposal costs.

By coordinating efforts and finding financing, the Authority assists participating local governments in Maryland, other public entities, and the private sector in developing environmentally friendly waste disposal systems. The Authority also helps facilities find ways to reduce waste, minimize waste disposal costs, and provide adequate services, including recycling, composting, landfilling, and combustion and energy recovery (Chapter 163, Acts of 2004).

Basically self-supporting, the Authority receives minor appropriations from participating local governments, but no State funds.

The Authority has nine members. Eight are appointed by the Governor to four-year terms. One serves ex officio. With the approval of the Governor, the Authority appoints the Executive Director (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 3-901 through 3-929).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 13, 2022 Maryland State Archives