Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals:
John R. Hargrove, Jr., Chair (chosen by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals)
Mark R. Bittner; Ben C. Clyburn; David R. Durfee, Jr., Esq.; Kelley E. O'Connor; Gerald V. Purnell; Thomas G. Ross; Roberta L. Warnken; David W. Weissert; Barry G. Williams.

Staff: Terry L. Youngbar

c/o Office of Commissioner Activity
Robert F. Sweeney District Court Building, 251 Rowe Blvd., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-1231
e-mail: terry.youngbar@mdcourts.gov

In September 2013, the Task Force on Pretrial Confinement and Release was formed. In October 2013, it was established by administrative order.

The Task Force was created in response to a court decision, DeWolfe v. Richmond, which ruled that criminal defendants have a constitutional right to be represented by counsel at initial appearances before District Court Commissioners. The Task Force considered how providing access to public defenders at bail hearings of persons charged with crimes will impact Maryland's judicial system.

The Task Force submitted its final report to the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals in April 2014.

Authorization for the Task Force was rescinded in May 2014.

Maryland Judiciary
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives