[photo, Cathleen M. Vitale, Maryland Circuit Court Judge] CATHLEEN M. VITALE, Associate Judge, Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, 5th Judicial Circuit, since February 23, 2015. Member, Specialty Courts and Dockets Committee, 2021-, Judicial Council.

Member of House of Delegates (Republican), January 12, 2011 to February 23, 2015 (representing District 33A, Anne Arundel County, 2011-15; District 33, Anne Arundel County, January 14 to February 23, 2015). Resigned February 23, 2015. Member, Environmental Matters Committee, 2011-15 (environment subcommittee, 2011-15; land use & ethics subcommittee, 2011-15); Work Group to Review Disclosure Requirements of the Public Ethics Law, 2012-13; Environment and Transportation Committee, 2015 (housing & real property subcommittee, 2015; land use & ethics subcommittee, 2015). Member, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2011-15.

Member, County Council, Anne Arundel County, representing Councilmanic District 5, February 2000 to December 6, 2010 (vice-chair, 2005-07, and December 2008 to June 2009; chair, 2002-03, and June 16 to December 7, 2009).

Member, Severn River Commission, 2000-04; Governor's Commission on Housing Policy, 2003-04; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2004-10; County Executive's Transition Team, Anne Arundel County, 2006-07; Governor's Family Violence Council, 2015-.

Born on Long Island, New York, August 13, 1964. University of Maryland, B.S. (government & politics), 1985; University of Baltimore School of Law, J.D., 1989. Law clerk to Judge Raymond G. Thieme, Jr., Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, 1989. Attorney. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1989; District of Columbia Bar, 1990. Associate, Whitworth & Smith, P.A., 1990-94. Senior member, Henault & Sysko, 1998-2013 (associate, 1994-98). Principal, Law Offices of Cathleen M. Vitale, 2013-15. Member, Maryland State Bar Assocation, 1989- (family & juvenile law section); Anne Arundel County Bar Association (board of trustees, 1998-99; chair, young lawyers committee, 1991-93). Member, Anne Arundel County Republican Central Committee, 1994-2000 (chair, 1998-2000). Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2004. 2nd Vice-President, Maryland Association of Counties, 2010 (board of directors, 2007-08; treasurer, 2009). Member, Severna Park Chamber of Commerce. Vice-President, Whitehurst Community Association. Vice-President, St. John's Catholic School Board. Board of Directors, Camp Blaze, Inc. Fannie Lou Hamer Humanitarian Award, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards Committee, 2004. Lifetime Achievement Award, Anne Arundel County Republican Central Committee, 2010. Attorney Advocate of the Year, National Small Business Week Awards Program, Greater Severna Park & Arnold Chamber of Commerce, 2014. Community Heritage Award, Association for Severna Park Improvement Renewal & Enhancement (ASPIRE), 2015. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 2018. Married; one child.

Maryland Judiciary
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives