[photo, Lynne A. Battaglia, Court of Appeals Judge] LYNNE A. BATTAGLIA
Judge, Court of Appeals, 3rd Appellate Judicial Circuit (Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard & Washington counties), January 26, 2001 to April 14, 2016. Retired April 14, 2016. Senior Judge since 2016. Member, Public Awareness Committee, 2001-04, Maryland Judicial Conference. Chair, Professionalism Task Force, 2002-03. Chair, Court Commission on Professionalism, 2004-06. Chair, Commission on Professionalism, 2009-12. Chair, Board of Directors, Maryland Professionalism Center, 2012-16. Member, Retired and Recalled Judges Committee, 2015-17, Education Committee, 2015-17 (chair, professionalism subcommittee, 2015; chair, professionalism center subcommittee, 2016-), Senior Judges Committee, 2017-, and Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee, 2022-, Judicial Council.

Member, Advisory Board, University of Baltimore School of Law, 2004-.

Assistant U.S. Attorney, District of Maryland, 1978-82. Senior Trial Attorney, Office of Special Litigation, U.S. Dept. of Justice, 1984-88.

Chief, Criminal Investigations Division, Office of Attorney General, 1988-91.

Chief of Staff to U.S. Senator Barbara A. Mikulski of Maryland, 1991-93.

U.S. Attorney, District of Maryland, 1993-2001. Board of Visitors, University of Maryland School of Law, 1993-. Member, Task Force on Sentencing and Intermediate Sanctions, 1995-96; Maryland Alternative Dispute Resolution Commission, 1998-2000. Co-Chair, Women's Health Promotion Council, 1999-2001. Member, Safe Schools Interagency Steering Committee, 1999-2001. Vice-Chair, Maryland Commission for Women, 2000-01.

Born in Buffalo, New York, April 14, 1946. The American University, B.A. (international relations), 1967, M.A. (Latin American studies), 1968; Georgetown University, graduate studies (American government); University of Maryland School of Law, J.D., 1974 (order of the coif, national law school honor society). Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1974. Associate, Semmes, Bowen & Semmes, 1974-78. Member, Maryland State Bar Association (gender equality committee; civility task force; chair, judicial administration council, 2006-08; chair, planning committee, 2007-); Baltimore City Bar Association (former chair, gender issues subcommittee; former chair, judicial administration committee); Howard County Bar Association (board of directors; chair, bench & bar committee); Women's Bar Association of Maryland. Chair, Howard County Chapter, James MacGill American Inns of Court, 2004-05. Author, "Obeisance to the Separation of Powers, and Protection of Individuals' Rights and Liberties: The Honorable John C. Eldridge's Approach to Constitutional Analysis in the Court of Appeals of Maryland, 1974-2003", Maryland Law Review, 62: 387 (2003). " 'Property and Law Are Born and Must Die Together': The Honorable Dale R. Cathell's Philosophy of Individual Property Rights and the Government in the Court of Appeals and the Court of Special Appeals, 1987-2006", University of Baltimore Law Review, 36:195 (2007); " 'Where is Justice?' An Exploration of Beginnings", University of Baltimore Law Forum, 42:1 (2011). Co-author, "Investing in the Future of Maryland Women", Maryland Law Journal, (July 2011). Editor, Finding Justice: A History of Women Lawyers in Maryland since 1642 (2015). Board of Directors, Traditional Acupuncture Institute, 1981-2005. Adjunct faculty, University of Maryland School of Law, 1983-. Elected to American Law Institute, 2007. Adjunct faculty, University of Baltimore School of Law, 2008-. Dorothy Beatty Memorial Award, Women's Law Center of Maryland, 1994. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 1996, 1999, 2001 (Circle of Excellence). Distinguished Women Award, Girl Scouts of Central Maryland, 1997. Distinguished Graduate Award, University of Maryland School of Law, 1998. Honorary J.D., University of Baltimore School of Law, 2001. Margaret Brent-Juanita Jackson Mitchell Award, 2002-03. Maryland Leadership in Law Award, Daily Record, 2003. Legal Excellence Award for the Advancement of Professional Competence, Maryland Bar Foundation, 2004. Charles Hamilton Houston Lifetime Achievement Award in Litigation, University of Baltimore School of Law, 2006. Conwell R. Sapp Award, Howard County Chapter, Women's Bar Association, 2007. Rita C. Davidson Award, Women's Bar Association of Maryland, 2008. Inducted into Howard County Women's Hall of Fame, 2010. Etta Maddox Award, Women's Bar Association of Maryland, 2015.

Maryland Judiciary
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 22, 2023 Maryland State Archives