[photo, 100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland] Vacancy, Youth Chair (elected by Council youth members in Sept., 1-year term)

Appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: Jason Park, 2022; Elijah Cockey, 2023; Samuel Desai, 2023; Dhruv Girish, 2023.

Appointed by Senate President to 2-year terms: Shelbi Briggs; Meghna Chandrasekaran; Derek Mu; Jayden Shiflett. Terms expire 2023.

Appointed by House Speaker to 2-year terms: Ricky Bridges, 2022; Rosalind Marfo, 2022; James Mu, 2023; Hailey Smith, 2023.

Appointed by Division of Children & Youth, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services to 2-year terms:
Issac Colbert; Shreeyam Mishra; Marie-Clare Ofoegbu; Lauren Raskin; Salvatore Suarez; one vacancy. Terms expire 2022.

Melany Benites; Maja Durkovic; Henry Meiser; Sumiya Rahaman; Emily Shrieves; Yashita Thalla. Terms expire 2023.

Staff: Christina E. Drushel Williams

100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland, July 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

c/o Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services
100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032
(410) 697-9242

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due June 1.

In June 2008, the Maryland Youth Advisory Council was established by the General Assembly (Chapter 559, Acts of 2008).

The Council keeps the Governor and the General Assembly apprised of issues which are important to youth in the State. Annually, the Council also formulates a legislative proposal and conducts public hearings on issues of concern to young people. Part of the Council's work is conducted by the Legislative Committee and the Public Awareness Committee.

In 2016, the Council's charge was expanded, when it was authorized to participate in local youth activities or organizations, and advise local government officials and community leaders on youth issues (Chapter 620, Acts of 2016).

Since July 2016, the Council consists of twenty-four members whose two-year terms start September 1. The Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker each appoint four members. The Division of Children and Youth of the Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services appoints the remaining members, four of whom are nominated by local management boards, four by the Maryland Association of Student Councils, two by the University System of Maryland Student Council, and two by the Student Advisory Council to the Maryland Higher Education Commission (Chapter 69, Acts of 2009; Chapter 620, Acts of 2016; Chapter 11, Acts of 2020; Code State Government Article, sec. 9-2701).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 09, 2022 Maryland State Archives