Frank J. Principe Jr., Chair (chosen by Governor with Senate President & House Speaker advice)

Appointed by Governor: Gregory S. Akerman; Ragina Cooper Ali; Holly Arnold; Calvin B. Ball; Cathrin S. Banks; Jon N. Haines; Nicholas Henninger-Ayoub; Thomas E. Huesman; Mary D. Kane; James F. Kercheval; Jon M. Laria; Todd R. Mohn; Christine E. Nizer; Oluseyi Olugbenle; Michael Sakata; Charles Scott; Patricia M. Stevens; Antoine M. Thompson; Josh L. Tulkin; David L. Winstead.

Appointed by Senate President: Guy J. Guzzone; Stephen S. Hershey Jr.; one vacancy.

Appointed by House Speaker: Mark S. Chang; Jessica M. Feldmark; Marc A. Korman, Esq.

Ex officio: Helene T. Grady, Secretary of Budget & Management; Kevin A. Anderson, Secretary of Commerce; Rebecca L. Flora, Secretary of Planning; Paul J. Wiedefeld, Secretary of Transportation.

[Dept. of Transportation Building, 7201 Corporate Center Drive, Hanover, Maryland] Staff: Jaclyn D. Hartman (410) 844-2585;
Steven D. McCulloch (410) 881-3063;

c/o Office of Secretary, Department of Transportation
Harry R. Hughes Department of Transportation Building, 7201 Corporate Center Drive, Hanover, MD 21076

Harry R. Hughes Department of Transportation Building, 7201 Corporate Center Drive, Hanover, Maryland, May 2009. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Interim Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. 1, 2024 (Chapter 455, Acts of 2023).

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. 1, 2025 (Chapter 455, Acts of 2023).

Effective July 1, 2023, the Maryland Commission on Transportation Revenue and Infrastructure Needs was formed by the General Assembly (Chapter 455, Acts of 2023).

The Commission is to review, evaluate, and make recommendations on current State funding sources and the structure of the Maryland Transportation Trust Fund; and short– and long–term construction and maintenance funding needs for transit, highway, pedestrian, bicycle, heavy rail, shipping, air travel, and other transportation needs. Also under consideration will be methods that other states use to fund state transportation operating and capital programs, including toll revenue, vehicle–miles–traveled fees, fees on zero–emission vehicles, and non–transportation–related revenue options. To meet transportation funding needs, the Commission is to review options for public–private partnerships, including those with local governments. It further will guage changes in transportation technology and trends that will impact transportation infrastructure needs and costs to the State; and evaluate practices for prioritizing project funding, as well as options to better consider needs, including local and legislative priorities. In addition, the Commission is to consider the structure of regional transportation authorities and their ability to meet transportation needs in various regions of the State; options to sustain long–term revenue sources for transportation; and ways to improve the Department of Transportation’s ability and capacity to deliver major capital projects.

Thirty-one members constitute the Commission. Of these, twenty-one members are appointed by the Governor, three by the Senate President, and three by the House Speaker. Four members serve ex officio. The Governor names the Chair after consultation with the Senate President and House Speaker.

Authorization for the Commission ends June 30, 2025.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright November 01, 2023 Maryland State Archives