Paul G. Pinsky, Chair (chosen by Director, Maryland Energy Administration)

Appointed by Governor: Kimberly M. Armstrong; Imani Black; Charles Coggeshall; Elizabeth Cusack; Bryan Hacker; Stephanie Elise Johnson.

Appointed by Senate President: Benjamin T. Brooks, Sr.; Sarah K. Elfreth.

Appointed by House Speaker: David Fraser-Hidalgo; Melissa R. Wells.

Appointed by People's Counsel: Jacob M. Ouslander, Esq.

Representing Maryland Association of Counties: Andrea L. Crooms; Jeremy D. Goldman; Robert F. Sandlass, Jr.

Representing Maryland Municipal League: Justin Fiore

Representing Maryland State & DC AFL-CIO: Donna S. Edwards; one vacancy

Representing Associated Builders & Contractors of Maryland: one vacancy

Representing Maryland Minority Contractors Association: one vacancy

Ex officio: Jonathan W. Glaser, designee of Director, State Department of Assessments & Taxation; Paul G. Pinsky, Director, Maryland Energy Administration; Brett L. Sproul, designee of Chair, Public Service Commission.

[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Staff: Landon R. Fahrig, Esq.

c/o Maryland Energy Administration
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Suite 755, Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-4000; 1-800-72ENERGY (toll free); fax: (410) 537-4096
e-mail: landon.fahrig@maryland.gov
web: http://energy.maryland.gov/solartaskforce.aspx

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Report to General Assembly due Dec. 15, 2023 (Chapter 545, Acts of 2023).

In July 2023, the General Assembly formed the Task Force to Study Solar Incentives (Chapter 545, Acts of 2023).

The Task Force is to study financial incentives affecting the State’s ability to meet solar energy goals established in the State’s renewable energy portfolio standard, including the impact of solar grant programs, tax credits and exemptions, classification of solar energy property for assessment purposes, and solar renewable energy credits. It also will evaluate the impact of federal solar energy incentives and how to maximize their benefit in Maryland. Moreover, the Task Force is to consider how the solar alternative compliance fee is calculated and its market relationship to the value of solar renewable energy credits; and whether different levels or types of incentives should be used for different kinds of solar development.

Task Force recommendations need to ensure that solar energy goals established in the State’s renewable energy portfolio standard are met; minority business enterprises participate in solar development; and good jobs with training are part of the solar development process for communities where solar development is occurring. Recommendations should provide further for equitable access to renewable energy in Maryland; and efficient use of land in the State by maximizing the production of solar energy on previously developed property, including rooftops, parking canopies, and brownfields sites.

Authorization for the Task Force ends June 30, 2024.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright October 23, 2023 Maryland State Archives