Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:
James V. Aluisi, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2021
Katherine Moxley Smeltzer, Esq., 2014; Arleathia West, 2016; James T. Fleming, 2020; Douglas DeLeaver, 2021; Catherine L. Meyers, 2024; two vacancies.

Representing Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services: one vacancy

Ex officio: Laura Estupinan-Kane, Psy.D., designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; Michele C. Fleming, designee of Secretary of Health; Alyssa S. Lord, Deputy Secretary, Behavioral Health; Carolyn J. Scruggs, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Philip E. Criddle, designee of Secretary of State Police; Dorothy J. Lennig, Esq., Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; David R. Blumberg, Chair, Maryland Parole Commission; Lynda G. Lovette, Director, Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository.

Staff: Sandra L. Montgomery, Ph.D.

c/o Maryland Sex Offender Registry Unit
Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services
6776 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, MD 21215 - 2341
(410) 585-3600

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 31 (Chapter 4, Acts of 2006 Special Session; Code Public Safety Article, sec. 1-401(h)).

Report to General Assembly on recommendations to protect residents & employees of nursing homes & assisted living facilities from sexual offenders due Dec. 1, 2011 (Chapter 608, Acts of 2010).

The Sexual Offender Advisory Board was established within the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services in June 2006 and restructured as a unit separate from the Department in June 2010 (Chapter 4, Acts of 2006 Special Session; Chapter 179, Acts of 2010).

The Board reviews Maryland's laws and those of other states and jurisdictions that concern sexual offenders, as well as the practices and procedures for supervising and monitoring sexual offenders which currently are used by the Maryland Parole Commission and the Division of Parole and Probation. The Board also evaluates technology that tracks offenders; reviews developments in assessing and treating sexual offenders; formulates standards for such treatment based on current and evolving best practices; and certifies treatment programs that comply with the standards.

With the Division of Parole and Probation, the Board develops criteria to measure an individual's risk for re-offending. Also, the Board considers how to increase interstate cooperation in registering and monitoring sexual offenders. Finally, the Board makes recommendations for training sexual offender management teams within the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.

Of the Board's seventeen members, the Governor appoints eight to four-year terms. Nine serve ex officio (Code Public Safety Article, sec. 1-401).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 18, 2023 Maryland State Archives