Appointed by Governor:
Katherine M. Oliver, Co-Chair
Grant Schmelzer, Co-Chair
Kathleen M. Beauman; Joseph T. Biglin; Valerie J. Brennan; Michelle L. Butt; Peter F. Cevenini; Trudy E. Chara; M. Andy Chaves; Tim A. Corder; Lisa C. Cox; Thomas G. Evans; June D. Fordham; Susan T. Gorman; Larry R. Greenhill, Sr.; Joe A. Hairston, Ed.D.; Jeffrey L. Hargraves; Theresa W. Hollander; Dean R. Kendall; Victoria Lee; Marjorie R. Lohnes; Kevin E. Lowndes; George Mayo VI; Lynn M. Patterson; Mary Etta Reedy; Anne Spence; Theresa D. Stafford; Jasper L. Wilson; Ralph T. Wolfe; Anthony Wong; Holly A. Woodward.

In October 2008, the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland established the Career and Technology Education Task Force. In May 2009, the Task Force submitted its final report.

Appointed by Governor:
Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., Co-Chair
James E. Lyons, Sr., Ph.D., Co-Chair

Guy Altieri, Ed.D.; Kathryn A. Barbour; Mickey L. Burnim, Ph.D.; Ann N. Bonitatibus; Joann A. Boughman, Ph.D.; Joan Carter Conway; Norman H. Conway; Deborah J. Cruise, Ph.D.; Ulysses Currie; Mary Kay Finan, Ed.D.; Gino J. Gemignani, Jr.; Barbara A. Gill; Joe A. Hairston, Ed.D.; Christine Handy-Collins, Ed.D.; Elliot L. Hirschman, Ph.D.; Sheila E. Hixson; Daryl E. Kennedy; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D.; Karen Neal; Carl D. Roberts, Ed.D.; T. Joan Robinson, Ph.D.; Eric M. Seleznow; Linda T. Wise.

The College Success Task Force began meeting in May 2009. The Task Force is to examine Maryland educational policies and practices concerned with students being prepared for and succeeding in college. Specifically, the Task Force will identify gaps between high school graduation requirements and college entrance expectations, particularly in reading, writing, and mathematics. Further, the Task Force will identify national benchmark educational achievement standards, and, based on those benchmarks, recommend changes to current standards and policies to ensure successful transitions from high school to college. In May 2010, the Task Force submitted its final report to the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland.

Appointed by Governor:
Mary A. Carey, Co-Chair
Elizabeth M. Morgan, Ph.D., Co-Chair
Mita Badshah; Diane S. Bragdon; Betty Ann Clark; Lawrence H. Cohen; Jan H. Conway; Gerald R. DeGrange; Anissa K. Brown Dennis; Judith R. Docca, Ed.D.; Deborah S. Drown; Albert P. DuPont II, Ed.D.; Colleen Eisenbeiser; Maha Fadli; James V. Foran, Ed.D.; Hope R. Harrington; Theodore Haynie; Lorenzo L. Hughes; R. Owen Johnson, Jr.; Christopher W. Lloyd; Patrick S. McCusker; Karen W. N'Dour; Janet Pauls; George W. Reid, Ph.D.; James E. Richmond; Eugene L. Streagle, Jr.; Wayne D. Thibeault; Ronald S. Thomas, Ph.D.

In October 2008, the Principals Task Force was established by the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland. The Task Force developed a plan to provide support to current principals and training of future principals, and submitted its final report in May 2009.

Appointed by Governor:
William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., Co-Chair
June E. Streckfus, Co-Chair
Stephen A. Barkanic; David S. Byer; Kenneth C. Carter, Ph.D.; Donna Clem; Rafael Correa; Robert Dawson; Eugene M. DeLoatch, Ph.D.; Linda Eberhardt; Clarissa Evans; Nariman Favardin, Ph.D.; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D.; Stephanie C. Hill; Kristina M. Johnson, Ph.D.; Michael J. Martirano, Ed.D.; Warren Mullins; Gregg Newby; Anita O'Neill; Judith C. Oleks, Ed.D.; Dennis A. Pataniczek, Ph.D.; Darnell Peaker; James F. Pitts; Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, M.D.; Rizwan A. Siddiqi; Susan K. Stewart; Donald Thomas.

Under the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland, the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Task Force formed in 2008. The Task Force recommended ways to improve science, technology, engineering and mathematics education in Maryland, and increase the number of graduates with degrees in these fields. In August 2009, the Task Force submitted its final report to the Governor.

Appointed by P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland:
Mary Ann Mears, Co-Chair
Jack R. Smith, Ph.D, Co-Chair
Sean W. Abel, Ed.D.; John Baugher; Mark Coates; Theresa M. Colvin; James H. DeGraffenreidt, Jr.; Eleni Dykstra; Nancy V. Highsmith; Judith H. Jenkins; Peter Kannam; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D; Martin G. Knott, Jr.; Kwame Kwei-Armah; Anita B. Lambert; Liz Lerman; Maravene S. Loeschke, Ph.D.; Kevin M. Maxwell, Ph.D.; Stephen W. Miles, Ph.D.; Khalid N. Mumin, Ed.D.; Christopher P. Nunzio; Rick Penix; Wayne D. Ridenour; Elizabeth G. (Lisa) Stuart; Sonia Synkowki; Carol Trawick; James L. (Jay) Tucker, Jr.; Patricia L. Welch, Ph.D.

In September 2013, the P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland created the Task Force on Arts Education in Maryland Schools. After surveying the current status of arts education in the State, the Task Force made recommendations to the Council on fine arts policy curriculum, professional development, and resource allocation in September 2014.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives