Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Afshin Abedi, Ph.D.; Thuylinh (Lynn) Phan; Jeffrey T. Wright; two vacancies.

Appointed by Senate President: one vacancy

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Appointed by Howard County Executive: one vacancy

Appointed by Montgomery County Executive: one vacancy

Ex officio: Rona F. Kramer, Secretary of Aging; Dennis R. Schrader, Secretary of Health.

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Oct. 1 (Chapter 437, Acts of 2022).

On July 1, 2022, the General Assembly authorized creation of the Adult Day Health Care Services Pilot Program, for Howard and Montgomery counties. At the same time the Legislature formed the Task Force on the Howard County and Montgomery County Adult Day Health Care Services Pilot Program (Chapter 437, Acts of 2022).

Participation in the Pilot Program is limited to elderly individuals who reside in Howard or Montgomery counties, and receive medical adult day care, home health care, or medical services provided under Medicaid, including medical services offered by a Medicaid managed-care organization.

The Task Force charge is to examine the status of medical adult day care in Maryland, and make recommendations regarding implementation of the Pilot Program on a statewide basis.

Required services for the Pilot Program and the efficacy of providing services using an "integrator" will be reiewed and evaluated by the Task Force. Licensed in Maryland to provide at least one of the Program's services, an “integrator” organizes a voluntary association of licensed medical providers of adult day care, home health care, and others to coordinate and provide integrated services under the Pilot Program.

The Task Force additionally will identify and measure any enhanced continuity of care; any reduction in use of emergency medical services; and other potential benefits of the integrator model, such as greater social interaction, assitional transportation options, avoidance of food insecurity, and monitoring administration of medications.

The Task Force consists of eleven members. Five are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate President and House Speaker, and one each by the Howard County Executive and Montgomery County Executive. Two members serve ex officio (Code Health-General Article, sec. 14-2A-01 through 14-2A-03).

Authorization for the Task Force ends December 31, 2025.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright September 07, 2022 Maryland State Archives