Bruce M. Plaxen, Chair (chosen by Commission)

[photo, Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle (from College Ave.) Annapolis, Maryland] Appointed by Senate President to 4-year terms: Jamar R. Brown, Esq.; Eleanor M. Carey, Esq.; Bruce M. Plaxen. Terms expire 2024.

Appointed by House Speaker to 4-year terms: D. Bruce Poole; Lindsey Reynolds; Charles G. (Chuck) Tildon III. Terms expire 2025.

Ex officio: Dereck E. Davis, State Treasurer

Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle (from College Ave.) Annapolis, Maryland, November 1999. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Steven D. McCulloch; e-mail:
Kenneth B. Weaver; e-mail:

c/o Office of Policy Analysis, Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5530, (301) 970-5530
fax: (410) 946-5555, (301) 970-5555

The Governor's Salary Commission was authorized in 1976 by Constitutional amendment (Chapter 543, Acts of 1976, ratified November 2, 1976).

Once every four years, the Commission considers and recommends to the General Assembly any changes to the salaries of the Governor and the Lieutenant Governor. These recommendations are presented as a legislative joint resolution and must be introduced no later than the fifteenth day of the regular session every fourth year. The General Assembly may adopt or reduce the Commission's proposed salaries, but may not increase them. If the General Assembly fails to adopt or amend the joint resolution within fifty calendar days after its introduction, the salaries proposed by the Commission shall apply. Salaries recommended by the Commission and endorsed by the General Assembly begin at the next term of the Governor. If the Commission fails to provide salary recommendations, no salary changes can be made for four years (Const., Art. II, secs. 1A, 21, 21A).

For the period of January 2011 through December 2012, the Governor's annual salary was $150,000 and the annual salary of the Lieutenant Governor was $125,000. Since Commission recommendations were rejected by the General Assembly in 2010, for January 2013 through December 2014, the annual salaries of the Governor and Lieutenant Governor continued as they were.

Legislation passed by the General Assembly in 2014 applies to the terms of office from 2015 through 2018 (Joint Resolution 2, Acts of 2014).

As of January 1, 2015:

As of January 1, 2016:

As of January 1, 2017:

As of January 1, 2018:

The Governor's Salary Commission consists of seven members. For four-year terms, three are appointed by the Senate President and three by the House Speaker. The State Treasurer serves ex officio (Const., Art. II, sec. 21A).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives