Chair: Kimberly A. Hiner, designee of Secretary of Health

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent to 4-year terms: Kevin J. Contreras, 2024; Bettye J. Muwwakkil, 2024; Yana Rachinskaya, 2024; Samantha A. Sailsman, 2024; LaKerry B. Dawson, 2025; Elizabeth Edsall Kromm, Ph.D., 2025; Tiffany Rivers Scott, 2025; Lashelle Stewart, 2025; Rosario A. Campos, 2026; Jude L. James, 2026; Jennifer Martinez, 2026; Rachael D. Parran, 2026; Kelly Umana, 2026; Fay L. Alexander, 2028; Griselda C. Funn, 2028; Kathleen Gilligan, 2028; Robin N. Hollar, 2028; Rebecca L. Jones, R.N., 2028.

Staff: Christina (Tina) M. Backe

[photo, Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Office of Population Health Improvement, Maryland Department of Health
Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, Room 408
201 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-5590

Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, December 2000 (on right is 301 West Preston St.). Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In October 2018, the State Community Health Worker Advisory Committee was established by the General Assembly (Chapter 441, Acts of 2018).

At least two times each year, the Advisory Committee meets and makes recommendations to the Maryland Department of Health concerning the certification of community health workers. A community health worker is a frontline public health worker who is a trusted member of the community being served and acts as a liaison, link, or intermediary between the community and its health and social services, thereby facilitating access to those services, and improving service delivery. Further, a community health worker informs the community through outreach, advocacy, social support, community education, and the provision of specific information.

The Advisory Committee consults with the Maryland Department of Labor; the Maryland Higher Education Commission; the Maryland Rural Health Association; the Maryland Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics; the Maryland State Dental Association; hospitals and community institutions that employ community health workers; and postsecondary educational institutions with nursing, social work, and dietetic programs. Next, the Advisory Committee advises the Maryland Department of Health on training programs for community health workers and the certification of such workers.

In collaboration with the Advisory Committee, the Maryland Department of Health adopts regulations establishing the process for accrediting community health worker training programs, as well as initial regulations for the certification of community health workers. Further, the Department is to establish a deadline, after which a community health worker must be certified by the State.

The costs of regulating and certifying community health workers are covered by the State Community Health Workers Fund.

The Committee consists of nineteen members. Of these, eighteen members are appointed by the Governor with Senate advice and consent to four-year terms. The Secretary of Health serves as Chair (Chapter 441, Acts of 2018; Code Health-General Article, sec. 13-3607).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 19, 2023 Maryland State Archives