Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Council)

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Dorothy J. Lennig, Esq., 2025.; Leah C. Sera, Pharm.D., 2025; Leigh L. Vinocur, M.D., 2025; David A. Gorelick, M.D., Ph.D, 2026; Madhumi Mitra, Ph.D., 2026; Nora Urbieta-Eidelman, 2026; Deondra P. Asike, M.D., 2027; Karrissa M. Miller, 2027; Jocelyn Bratton-Payne, 2027; Mathew R. Swinburne, J.D., 2027.

Appointed by Senate President: Benjamin F. Kramer

Appointed by House Speaker: Terri L. Hill, M.D.

Ex officio: Martin Proulx, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; Elizabeth Edsall Kromm, Ph.D., designee of Secretary of Health; Sara Barra, designee of Deputy Secretary, Behavioral Health; Justin H. Semanoff, designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Dawn S. Berkowitz, designee of Director, Maryland Cannabis Administration.

Staff: Dana Moncrief

[photo, Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Maryland Department of Health
Prevention & Health Promotion Administration
Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, Room 303
201 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2399
(443) 827-5040

Maryland Department of Health, Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, March 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Effective January 2023, the Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council was authorized by the General Assembly (Chapter 26, Acts of 2022).

The Council studies and makes recommendations regarding: the promotion of public health and mitigation of youth use of, misuse of, and addiction to cannabis; data collection and reporting of data that measures the impact of cannabis consumption and legalization; and the impact of cannabis legalization on the education, behavioral health, and somatic health of individuals under the age of 21 years. The Council also considers initiatives to prevent cannabis use by individuals under the age of 21 years, including educational programs for use in schools; public health campaigns on cannabis; advertising, labeling, product testing, and quality control requirements; training for health care providers related to cannabis use; and best practices regarding requirements to reduce the appeal of cannabis to minors as they apply to advertising, potency, packaging, and labeling standards.

Seventeen members constitute the Council. Of these, ten members are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor, one by the Senate President, and one by the House Speaker. Five members serve ex officio. The Council selects the Chair (Code Health-General Article, secs. 13-4501 through 13-4506).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 03, 2024 Maryland State Archives