Benjamin F. Kramer, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President)
Vacancy, Co-Chair (chosen by House Speaker)

Appointed by Secretary of Agriculture: Charley Hall; Jeremy Krum, Esq.; Lisa Radov; Kerry Rod; Susan Sarubin; Jeff Shepherd; Kathleen Summers; Katie Withowski, D.V.M.; Sara Yassin; one vacancy.

Ex officio: Michael S. Steadman, Jr., designee of Attorney General; Steven A. Connelly, designee of Secretary of Agriculture.

Staff: Cassandra R. (Cassie) Shirk

[photo, Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, Maryland] c/o Legislation & Governmental Affairs Office
Department of Agriculture
Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 8960
(410) 841-5886
e-mail: cassie.shirk@maryland.gov
web: https://mda.maryland.gov/about_mda/Pages/taskforce-caninebreeding.aspx

Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, Maryland, June 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Report to Governor, Senate Finance Committee & House Economic Matters Committee due Dec. 1, 2021 (Chapter 448, Acts of 2021).

In July 2021, the Task Force to Study Canine Breeding Facilities and Sourcing Standards was formed by the General Assembly ((Chapter 448, Acts of 2021).

The Task Force is studying dog breeding facilities and on-line sales of dogs through breeding facilities.

Achievements over the past twenty years in combating substandard breeding practices are being reviewed by the Task Force, along with current efforts to address substandard canine breeding practices. Also, nongovernmental comprehensive standards for canine breeding are to be identified. Facilities in full compliance with such standards will be visited by the Task Force to determine whether gaps exist between nongovernmental comprehensive standards and those of State and other governmental agencies.

Further, the Task Force will recommend ways to align State breeding standards with those set by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and any necessary legislative action necessary to meet those standards.

Authorization for the Task Force ends June 30, 2022.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives