Chair: Kevin M. Atticks, Secretary of Agriculture

Appointed by Governor on recommendation of Secretary of Agriculture: Kathy A. Abt; Lisa K. Barge; Kathryn H. Danko-Lord; Cheryl D. DeBerry; W. Harold Feaga; Rodney B. Glotfelty; Leslie D. Hart; Megan E. Keyes; Tyler Majchrzak; Erroll A. Mattox; George Mayo VI; James L. McCarron, Jr.; Mortimer H. Neufville, Ph.D.; Talmage Petty; Laura E. Price; Susanne Richards; Thomas E. Skilton, Esq.

Ex officio (nonvoting): Mariana C. (Mindy) Burgoyne, designee of Secretary of Commerce; Jeffrey K. Fretwell, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Kirk G. Engel, designee of Secretary of Health; Emily H. Wilson, designee of Secretary of Natural Resources; Daniel F. Rosen, designee of Secretary of Planning; Craig Beyrouty, Ph.D., Dean, College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, University of Maryland, College Park.

[photo, Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, Maryland] Staff: Cassandra R. (Cassie) Shirk

c/o Office of Secretary, Dept. of Agriculture
Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 8960
(410) 841-5886

Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, Maryland, June 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Annual Report to Governor due Oct. 1 (Executive Order 01.01.2006.06).

In October 2006, the Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture was established by the Governor (Executive Order 01.01.2006.06). The Commission promotes the economic viability of agriculture in the State by ensuring that local, State and other agricultural agencies work together to best use available resources.

The Commission develops and implements both a consistent systematic method to coordinate Maryland's agricultural economic development, and specific protocols that improve regulatory processes for agriculture and promote a business-friendly climate. Further, the Commission devises an annual intergovernmental plan for agricultural services and functions; identifies and assesses the impact on State and local governments of agricultural developments; recommends programs and policies that meet the State's agricultural strategy goals; and is to establish an agricultural affairs information center.

On recommendation of the Secretary of Agriculture, the Governor appoints the Commission's members. The Commission also is assisted by six nonvoting ex officio members. The Secretary of Agriculture chairs the Commission.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 13, 2023 Maryland State Archives